Zoho Sign Review 2026: Pricing, Features & Honest Verdict
Zoho Sign review: $10 a month for 25 envelopes, plus credits in $50 blocks for SMS, ID checks and the API. Prices checked October 2026, and who should skip it.
Zoho Sign is one of the cheapest paid e-signature tools you can buy, and its free plan is real. The catch sits beside the plan price: Zoho Sign credits, sold in blocks of 500 for $50, pay for SMS delivery, ID checks, bulk send, the API and app automations (checked October 2026).
My Zoho Sign review in one line: for teams already on Zoho, or anyone sending a steady 25 documents a month or fewer, it is good value. Once you need the features that burn credits, or your volume jumps in one month, the bill is plan plus credits.
On this page
Zoho Sign review verdict: who it's for and who should skip it
Zoho Sign is a capable, low-priced signing tool with a usable free plan and deep ties to the rest of Zoho. Its weak spots are setup effort, an interface users call dated, and a credit system that turns several features into extra charges.
Best for: Zoho One and Zoho CRM users; one person sending up to 5 documents a month (Free); a team sending a steady 10 to 25 a month each (Standard); businesses that need a HIPAA BAA on request, or 21 CFR Part 11 controls on Enterprise.
Skip if: your volume swings past 25 in some months, you need SMS delivery or signer ID checks but send only a few documents, or you rely on integrations outside the Zoho suite.
Here is how users rate Zoho Sign on review sites, checked October 2026.
| Platform | Rating | Number of reviews or ratings | Checked |
|---|---|---|---|
| Capterra, overall | 4.5 / 5 | 97 reviews | October 2026 |
| Capterra, ease of use | 4.6 / 5 | same reviews | October 2026 |
| Capterra, customer service | 4.3 / 5 | same reviews | October 2026 |
| G2 | 4.4 / 5 | 64 reviews | October 2026 |
| Apple App Store, iOS app | 4.8 / 5 | 865 ratings | October 2026 |
| Google Play, Android app | 4.5 / 5 | 1.68K reviews | October 2026 |
Sources: Capterra, G2, the App Store listing and the Google Play listing. Trustpilot has no Zoho Sign profile; its Zoho profile covers every Zoho product, so it is not listed here.
What users say about Zoho Sign in 2026
Zoho Sign's ratings are high everywhere, and the complaints are rarely about signing. They are about setting things up, how the product looks, and what costs extra.
“The value for money is unbeatable, especially compared to more expensive alternatives like DocuSign or Adobe Sign.”
“Clients can sign documents in seconds on any device without needing to create an account.”
“Zoho Sign is easy to use and makes sending contracts and agreements for electronic signatures quick and organized.”
“...you need to purchase SMS credits with a minimum starting purchase amount of $50!!!!”
“customer support is generally helpful, but response times on the lower-tier plans can occasionally take a day or two if you run into a technical glitch.”
“Zoho Sign currently lacks integration with Office 365, and some advanced features and customization options are not as extensive as tools like DocuSign.”
Review snapshot checked Oct 2026.
Below, the complaints are grouped by theme and given in full, with a few of the strongest positives. Every quote is from 2026, copied as written, and linked to where it was posted.
Pricing and billing: cheap plans, credits on top
Several reviewers praise the price. The billing complaints are about credits, which you buy separately from the plan.
“Want to sign up for a paid plan in order to use their SMS verification feature? Sure... OH WAIT, you need to purchase SMS credits with a minimum starting purchase amount of $50!!!!”
“cannot change plan or buy Zoho sign credits from the app”
One item in a list of requests for the iOS app.
“The value for money is unbeatable, especially compared to more expensive alternatives like DocuSign or Adobe Sign.”
“What I like most about Zoho Sign is its excellent value for money combined with simple and efficient document signing.”
“But if you want just the signature of a lets say a client, then I think Sign gives you the bang for a buck.”
The same Trustpilot reviewer also says free-account documents carry a "DEMO PURPOSES ONLY" mark. Zoho's pricing FAQ says that watermark is on documents signed during the 14-day trial, and that moving to the Free plan or a paid plan removes it (checked October 2026).
Customer support: helpful, but slower on lower tiers
I found few 2026 reviews about support, and they point both ways.
“customer support is generally helpful, but response times on the lower-tier plans can occasionally take a day or two if you run into a technical glitch.”
“I struggle with the support resources with it being an open forum kind instead of the traditional email system.”
“I lost $150 on Zoho Sign API because of a total lack of support, and they refuse to refund a $100 balance on Zoho Voice despite their official refund policy.”
From a review of Zoho as a whole; this is the line about Zoho Sign.
“What I like most about Zoho Sign is its excellent value for money, responsive customer support, and easy-to-use document signing features.”
Zoho Sign's plan comparison lists standard email support on Free and priority technical support (email, web and phone) from Standard up (checked October 2026).
Ease of use for senders: the biggest theme
This is where most of the 2026 complaints land, often inside four- and five-star reviews. Signing a document is simple; preparing one, placing fields and learning the options takes time.
“The interface can feel a bit overwhelming initially due to the number of customization options...”
“While the learning curve for basic signing is low, setting up advanced customization, complex multi-party workflows, or custom branding templates can be a bit counter-intuitive at first.”
“The user interface, while functional, feels a bit utilitarian and could use a modern visual refresh.”
“Every time I place a new field, the data for that field generates and I have to close it out to place a new box.”
“Some of the document setup and field placement can feel a little tedious, especially when preparing longer contracts.”
“It is a steep learning curve with users taking a bit of time to learn how to use the product properly”
“Too may and too often new features. This means new instructions for our back office team...”
“I don’t know if there was a new version today or some setting that changed, but suddenly it feels like I’m getting more notifications than I used to. There should be a way to turn off notifications I don’t want.”
“Occasionally, it takes some time to become familiar with all the available features and settings, especially for new users.”
“Zoho Sign is easy to use and makes sending contracts and agreements for electronic signatures quick and organized.”
Signer experience: fast for clients, plain to look at
Reviewers say signing is quick for clients, and one notes they need no account, which Zoho's pricing FAQ confirms. One App Store reviewer wants the signer experience more polished, like DocuSign, and calls the email templates dated.
“the signer experience needs to be more polished and professional like docusign”
“the email templates are early 2000s and don’t look professional.”
The same reviewer, about Zoho Sign's email templates.
“Clients can sign documents in seconds on any device without needing to create an account.”
“Signing, sending and manging documents digitally is a straightforward process...”
“It is easy to handle in our back office and very easy for our clients. Most contracts are signed on a mobile device by now.”
Features, integrations, and Zoho Sign's own API and MCP
Inside Zoho, one reviewer says Zoho Sign integrates with every Zoho module. Outside Zoho, most reviewers here describe extra setup and gaps; one connected it to a sales tool through the API without trouble.
“There is a template that can be used, but it is for a templated contract/document and not a template for the text block I use each time.”
“There are issues with regards to the integration of Zoho Sign with accounting software in the ERP environment...”
“Zoho Sign currently lacks integration with Office 365, and some advanced features and customization options are not as extensive as tools like DocuSign.”
“Integration with Third Party Tools require additional setup or tools which is quite frustrating...”
“I'm a Zoho One user, and Zoho Sign fully integrates with every Zoho module, making it easy to send a doc to any contact in my CRM...”
“ZohoSign is incredibly easy to set up and use. We integrated it seamlessly with our sales tool, SC360, using the provided API key.”
On the API, the 2026 reviews I found point both ways: one Capterra reviewer connected Zoho Sign to a sales tool with its API key, and one Trustpilot reviewer, quoted under support above, says they lost $150 on the Zoho Sign API for lack of support.
I found no 2026 user reviews about Zoho Sign's MCP integration. Zoho added it in June 2026, so the verdict on it is still out.
What Zoho Sign is and its key features
Zoho Sign is the e-signature app in the Zoho suite. You upload a document, place fields, send it to one or more recipients in order, and track it to completion. Its billing unit is the envelope: one signature request, which can hold several documents and several recipients.
Here is what each plan adds, per Zoho Sign's pricing page, checked October 2026:
| Plan | What it adds |
|---|---|
| Free | One user, 5 envelopes a month, signature workflows, reminders and notifications, audit trail, cloud import and export, mobile and desktop apps |
| Standard | 25 envelopes per user a month, approval workflows, SMS delivery, recipient authentication, witness and delegate signing, AI field detection, custom roles, app integrations, priority support |
| Professional | Unlimited envelopes, unlimited templates, branding, signer attachments, multi-language support, reports |
| Enterprise | Bulk send and bulk sign, SignForms, in-person signing, payment collection, 21 CFR Part 11 and EU GMP Annex 11 controls, APIs and webhooks, SDKs, 50 complimentary credits per user a month |
| API only | Pay per envelope through the API, no subscription; signing from the app is disabled |
On Standard and above, SMS delivery, recipient authentication, app integrations, bulk send, SignForms and the API all consume Zoho Sign credits. Signers need no account or subscription.
Zoho Sign shipped several changes in 2026, per its release notes:
- June: an integration with Zoho MCP, so AI agents on platforms such as Claude, Cursor, Windsurf and GitHub Copilot can run signature workflows; a tool to migrate templates from DocuSign; and an account usage dashboard.
- Earlier in the year: a sandbox environment, SharePoint and n8n integrations, and a new identity verification partner.
What Zoho Sign does well
Zoho Sign's strengths are real, and for the right buyer they outweigh the credits.
- A usable free plan. Free sends 5 envelopes a month and includes reminders, notifications and an audit trail, which many free plans leave out.
- A low price for paid plans. Standard is $10 per user a month billed yearly, which works out at $0.40 per envelope if you use all 25 (checked October 2026).
- The Zoho suite. Basic integration with Zoho CRM, Desk, Books, Invoice, People, Writer, Creator and Flow is on every plan, and a Zoho One user on Capterra praises how fully it integrates.
- Signing is quick for clients. Recipients sign from an email link with no account.
- Room to grow. Approval workflows, templates, branding, bulk send, in-person signing and payment collection are all on the ladder, and the API runs pay per envelope.
For regulated work, Zoho's HIPAA page says customers can request its BAA template by email, and the Enterprise plan lists controls for 21 CFR Part 11 and EU GMP Annex 11 (checked October 2026).
Zoho Sign pricing in 2026 (checked October 2026)
Zoho Sign prices are per user a month, and the yearly toggle on the pricing page says "Save 20%". Here is what the pricing page listed in US dollars on October 5, 2026, before tax:
| Plan | Billed yearly | Billed monthly | Envelopes | Users |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Free | $0 | $0 | 5 a month | 1 |
| Standard | $10 per user a month | $12 per user a month | 25 per user a month | Per user |
| Professional | $16 per user a month | $20 per user a month | Unlimited | Per user |
| Enterprise | $22 per user a month | $28 per user a month | Unlimited | Per user |
| API only | $0.50 per envelope | $0.50 per envelope | Pay as you go | No seats |
The pricing page also lists a custom plan through sales, and says volume discounts are available. The pricing FAQ says you can "upgrade, downgrade, or cancel at anytime"; it does not state a refund policy.
Zoho's own Google Play listing disagrees on one plan. Read on October 5, 2026, it lists Standard at 12 USD a month or 120 USD a year, which matches the pricing page.
- Professional on Google Play: 18 USD a month or 180 USD a year.
- Professional on the pricing page: $20 a month, or $16 a month billed yearly ($192 a year).
Check the price at checkout.
What Zoho Sign credits are, and when you need them
Credits are a prepaid add-on on top of any paid plan. Zoho's credits page says they cost $0.10 each, are sold in blocks of 500 ($50), never expire, and are available only on paid plans. Here is what uses them, per the consumption chart, checked October 2026:
| Action | Credits | Cost at $0.10 a credit |
|---|---|---|
| Sending a document by SMS | 0.5 per SMS | $0.05 |
| Sending a one-time passcode by SMS | 0.5 per SMS | $0.05 |
| Bulk send | 5 per recipient | $0.50 |
| A SignForms response | 5 per response | $0.50 |
| Sending through the REST API or SDKs | 5 per signature request | $0.50 |
| Sending from another Zoho app's automation | 5 per signature request | $0.50 |
| Sending from a third-party app's automation | 5 per signature request | $0.50 |
| Dynamic knowledge-based authentication | 15 per authentication, plus 5 per challenge attempt | $1.50 plus $0.50 |
Zoho's pricing FAQ adds: "Envelopes sent via API or third-party apps always consume Zoho Sign credits irrespective of your subscription plan." Enterprise includes 50 complimentary credits per user a month, capped at 2,500 per organization.
The real minimum is the block. Sending 10 envelopes a month by SMS uses about 60 credits a year, which is $6 of use, but the smallest purchase is $50.
What counts as an envelope, and what happens at 25 a month
Zoho's FAQ defines an envelope as "an individual digital signature workflow or request initiated in Zoho Sign", raised when it is sent for signature, whether from the app, the API or an integration. In bulk send and SignForms, every recipient or response is its own envelope.
Two things follow:
- The meter runs on sends. A request counts when it is raised, not when it is signed.
- The Standard cap is monthly. 25 per user a month means a busy month cannot borrow from a quiet one. Zoho's pricing page does not say what happens past 25 in a month or whether unused envelopes roll over, so plan on Professional for any month above 25.
The Zoho Sign numbers that set your real price
- 5
- Envelopes a month on the Free plan, for one user
- Zoho Sign pricing
- 25
- Envelopes per user a month on Standard ($10 billed yearly, $12 monthly)
- Zoho Sign pricing
- $50
- Smallest credit purchase: 500 credits at $0.10 each
- Zoho Sign credits page
- $0.50
- Per envelope sent through the API, on any plan
- Zoho Sign API plan
Where Zoho Sign falls short
The weak points are in what the plan price leaves out. Each one below comes from Zoho Sign's own pages, checked October 2026, or from the reviews above.
- Credits are a second bill. SMS, ID checks, bulk send, the API and app automations use credits on every paid plan, and the smallest purchase is $50.
- The Free plan cannot buy credits. The credits page says they are "Available only in the paid plans", so SMS delivery and ID checks need at least Standard plus a block of credits.
- Standard caps by the month. 25 envelopes per user a month, counted when sent. One busy month pushes you to Professional at $16 or $20 per user a month.
- Key features sit on Enterprise. Bulk send, in-person signing, payment collection and the API in the app all start at $22 per user a month billed yearly.
- The API plan has no app. Zoho's API page says "Getting documents signed via app interface is disabled on the API-only plan."
- Setup takes time. Field placement, templates and the number of options are the most common complaint in the 2026 reviews quoted above.
What a year of Zoho Sign costs at 5, 10 and 25 documents a month
For one sender, Zoho Sign costs $0 at 5 documents a month and $120 a year at 10 or 25, on yearly billing. The table uses the cheapest plan that covers each volume, at prices checked October 2026 on Zoho Sign's pricing page, before tax and with no credits.
| Volume, one sender | Cheapest Zoho Sign plan that fits | 1 year, billed yearly | 1 year, billed monthly | 3 years, billed yearly | Per envelope, yearly |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 5 a month (60 a year) | Free, at exactly its cap | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 |
| 10 a month (120 a year) | Standard | $120 | $144 | $360 | $1.00 |
| 25 a month (300 a year) | Standard, at exactly its cap | $120 | $144 | $360 | $0.40 |
| 10 a month on average, one month of 40 | Professional | $192 | $240 | $576 | $1.60 |
At 5 and 25 a month there is no slack: one extra document in a month moves you up a plan. Add credits if you use SMS, ID checks, bulk send or the API, starting at $50 a block.
Which Zoho Sign plan fits you
Match the plan to your busiest month and to the features that use credits, not to the headline price.
| You are | Plan | Why |
|---|---|---|
| One person sending up to 5 documents a month | Free | Reminders and an audit trail at no cost |
| A sender with a steady 6 to 25 a month | Standard, $10 per user a month yearly | Approval workflows and app integrations |
| A sender who goes over 25 in any month, or needs branding | Professional, $16 per user a month yearly | Unlimited envelopes and templates |
| A team that needs bulk send, in-person signing or payments | Enterprise, $22 per user a month yearly | Those features start here, with 50 free credits per user a month |
| A developer sending only through code | API only, $0.50 per envelope | No seats, but no signing from the app |
| A Zoho One or Zoho CRM user | The plan your Zoho bundle includes | Check your bundle before buying separately |
Prices in this table checked October 2026 on Zoho Sign's pricing page.
Which Zoho Sign plan fits you
- YesCheck firstEnterprise, $22 per user a month billed yearly
- NoDo you ever send more than 25 in a month, or need branding?
- YesGoProfessional, $16 per user a month billed yearly
- NoMore than one user, or more than 5 a month?
- YesGoStandard, $10 per user a month billed yearly
- NoGoThe Free plan
- Yes
- Yes
The tree in words:
- Need bulk send, in-person signing, payments or the API alongside the app: buy Enterprise.
- Send more than 25 in any month, or need branding: buy Professional.
- More than one user, or more than 5 a month: buy Standard.
- Otherwise the Free plan covers you.
How I reviewed Zoho Sign
I and my team have used Zoho Sign. For this review I also read Zoho Sign's own pages and what its users wrote in 2026, and checked everything again on October 5, 2026:
- Vendor pages: the pricing page and its FAQ in US dollars, the credits page and its consumption chart, the API plan page, the compliance pages and the 2026 release notes.
- Review platforms: Capterra and Software Advice reviews dated March to August 2026, Trustpilot reviews from June and September 2026, App Store reviews from February and May 2026, and the G2 and Google Play rating pages.
- Not quoted: G2 review text and Google Play reviews could not be read in full on the day, and the Reddit threads that rank for this topic were blocked, so none are quoted.
- Cost math: done at 5, 10 and 25 documents a month from the prices above.
Who should skip Zoho Sign, and what to use instead
Keep Zoho Sign if you run on Zoho One or Zoho CRM, send a steady 25 or fewer a month, or need its workflow features. If your business needs a HIPAA BAA or 21 CFR Part 11 controls, go with Zoho Sign; if you just need your business documents signed without paying extra for that, use SignWith.
Skip Zoho Sign if you are one or two people who sign documents now and then, unevenly, and don't want a monthly cap, a subscription or a separate credit system. That is who we built SignWith for.
SignWith has no seats and no subscription. You buy credits, and a credit is used only when a document is signed. Every signed document uses one of your free monthly documents or a credit, including one that only you sign, and a declined, voided or expired document uses none.
- Upload a PDF, JPEG or PNG, add signature, date, text and checkbox fields, and set the signing order.
- Your recipients sign in the browser on any device, with no account.
- Every completed document comes with a Certificate of Completion that records timestamps, IP addresses, device and browser details and email events, sealed with a SHA-256 hash.
10 signed documents a month for a year, one sender
- SignWith, cheapest packs84 paid documents: 1 x Basic + 1 x Pro + 1 x Business$57
- SignWith Lifetime Dealone-time, unlimited credits$149
- Zoho Sign Standard, billed yearly$120 per year$120
- Zoho Sign, billed monthly Standard$12 per month$144
Here is the same year at all three volumes. Zoho Sign prices checked October 2026; SignWith prices render from our pricing data, and the free monthly documents continue after you buy packs.
| Volume | Zoho Sign, 1 year | SignWith, 1 year |
|---|---|---|
| 5 a month | $0 (Free) | 3 free a month cover 36 documents; one Pro pack covers the other 24 for $19 |
| 10 a month | $120 (Standard, yearly) | 84 paid documents: one Business, one Pro and one Basic pack, $29 plus $19 plus $9 |
| 25 a month | $120 (Standard, yearly) | 264 paid documents: the Lifetime Deal at $149 one-time, cheaper than buying packs |
The honest read: Zoho Sign's Free plan wins at 5 a month, and Standard wins the first year at a steady 25 a month. At 10 a month, SignWith saves $63 (53%) against Standard billed yearly. Over 3 years at 25 a month, Zoho Sign Standard comes to $360 (checked October 2026), against the Lifetime Deal paid once.
Zoho Sign sells API sending at $0.50 per envelope in $50 credit blocks, with app signing switched off on that plan, and it connects to AI agents through Zoho MCP (checked October 2026). SignWith takes a different route:
- An API and an MCP server on every account. SignWith has a REST API and an MCP server for AI assistants such as Claude, ChatGPT, Cursor and VS Code, so your own code or your assistant can send documents for signature.
- The same credits as the app. No subscription, no developer plan, 3 free documents a month, then you buy credits, and a credit is used only when a document is signed.
- The same fit. The API doesn't change who SignWith suits: a team that needs approval workflows or compliance features should still pick Zoho Sign.
SignWith templates, bulk send, reminders, team accounts and integrations are coming soon, so if you need any of those today, Zoho Sign is the better buy. SignWith is used by 1,000+ businesses, and you can start free with no card.
No subscription. You buy credits, and a credit is used only when a document is signed. One credit covers one signed document, however many people sign it.
- Unlimited credits
- Never expires
- One-time payment
Prices in USD. See full pricing
If you're comparing Zoho Sign with other tools, the SignNow alternatives page covers it alongside other low-cost picks, and the best e-signature tools for personal use looks at its free plan. For the wider field, see the free DocuSign alternatives.
Related reading
Frequently asked questions
Is Zoho Sign free?
- Yes, for one user. The Free plan sends 5 envelopes a month and includes signature workflows, reminders, an audit trail and the mobile apps, per Zoho Sign's pricing page (checked October 2026). It cannot buy credits, so SMS delivery and ID checks need a paid plan. Signers never need an account.
How much does Zoho Sign cost?
- Standard is $10 per user a month billed yearly or $12 monthly, Professional $16 or $20, and Enterprise $22 or $28. The API-only plan is $0.50 per envelope. Credits for SMS, ID checks, bulk send and the API cost $0.10 each, sold in blocks of 500 ($50). Source: Zoho Sign pricing and credits pages, checked October 2026.
How many envelopes do I get on Zoho Sign Standard?
- 25 per user a month. An envelope counts when the signature request is sent, and in bulk send every recipient is a separate envelope. Professional and Enterprise have unlimited envelopes, though sends through the API or third-party apps always use credits. Source: Zoho Sign pricing page, checked October 2026.
What are Zoho Sign credits?
- A prepaid add-on for features that cost Zoho extra: SMS delivery, SMS passcodes, bulk send, SignForms, the API and automations from other apps, from 0.5 credits per SMS to 5 per API send. Credits cost $0.10, come in blocks of 500 and do not expire. Enterprise includes 50 per user a month, capped at 2,500. Source: Zoho Sign credits page, checked October 2026.
Can I cancel Zoho Sign at any time?
- Zoho's pricing FAQ says you can upgrade, downgrade or cancel at any time. The page does not state a refund policy, so ask Zoho before you pay for a year. After the 14-day trial, an account that has not upgraded moves to the Free plan with its data intact.
Does Zoho Sign offer a HIPAA BAA?
- Zoho's HIPAA page says covered entities can request its Business Associate Agreement template by emailing Zoho's legal team (checked October 2026). Get the signed BAA in place before you send health information.
Does Zoho Sign have an API or an MCP server?
- Yes. Zoho Sign has a REST API, webhooks and SDKs on Enterprise or the API-only plan, at 5 credits ($0.50) per envelope sent. In June 2026 it added an integration with Zoho MCP, so AI agents on platforms such as Claude and Cursor can run signature workflows. Source: Zoho Sign pricing page and release notes, checked October 2026.
E-signature rules vary by country, state and document type, so check with a legal professional that an e-signature suits your specific agreement before you rely on it.
Primary sources
- Zoho Sign pricing page, US dollars (checked October 2026)
- Zoho Sign credits add-on and consumption chart (checked October 2026)
- Zoho Sign API plan pricing and FAQ (checked October 2026)
- Zoho Sign release notes, 2026 (checked October 2026)
- Zoho Sign HIPAA compliance page (checked October 2026)
- Zoho Sign app on Google Play: listing and plan prices (checked October 2026)
- Zoho Sign app on the Apple App Store: ratings and reviews (checked October 2026)
- Zoho Sign reviews on Capterra (checked October 2026)
- Zoho Sign reviews on Software Advice (checked October 2026)
- Zoho Sign reviews on G2 (checked October 2026)
Written by
Ayush Garg
Co-founder, SignWith
Ayush is the co-founder of SignWith, the pay-per-document e-signature tool for businesses that just want documents signed without the intensity of a full platform. He worked as a freelancer, then a consultant, then a fractional head of growth, signing contracts with his clients. He has 6+ years of experience running SaaS and service businesses and writes about e-signatures, document workflows, and lean software.
Sign documents without another subscription.
Upload, sign and send in minutes. When you need more than the free documents, buy credits once, and a credit is used only when a document is signed.