How Much Does E-Signature Software Actually Cost?
Most plans bill for seats and months, not signed documents, so your real price depends on how often you sign and how hard it is to leave.
E-signature software costs $8 to $49 a month per user or plan on annual billing (verified September 2026), and many plans cap how many documents you can send. Free plans cover 3 to 5 documents a month. SignWith skips the subscription: 3 signed documents free every month, then one-time credit packs from $9 for 10 credits.
On this page
The number on an e-signature pricing page is rarely the number you pay. Most plans charge per user, per month, and cap how many documents you can send, so e-signature software cost comes down to three things: seats, document limits and the contract you sign to get them.
This page prices the same three volumes (5, 10 and 25 signed documents a month) on seven vendors' own US pricing pages, verified September 2026, and says plainly where a free plan or a cheap unlimited plan beats paying per document.
What do the main e-signature tools cost per month?
The main e-signature tools cost $8 to $49 a month per user or plan on annual billing. The table lists the entry paid plans, their document limits and the free tier, each verified September 2026 on the vendor's own US page.
| Tool | Entry paid price | Month-to-month | Free tier | Document limit on the entry plan |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| SignWith | No subscription: packs from $9 for 10 credits, Lifetime Deal $149 one-time | Not applicable | 3 signed documents a month | Packs valid 12 months |
| DocuSign | Personal $11 a month, Standard $30 per user, Business Pro $45 per user (annual, billed monthly) | Not published on the page | None | Personal 5 envelopes a month; Standard and Business Pro 100 per user a year |
| Adobe Acrobat for teams | Standard $16.99, Pro $23.99 per license (annual, billed monthly) | Not listed for teams | None found | Not stated on the pricing page |
| Dropbox Sign | Essentials $15 a month, 1 user, $180 a year; Standard $25 per user, 2 users minimum, $300 per user a year (billed yearly, regular price) | Not used here | Yes, limits not stated | Unlimited signature requests |
| PandaDoc | Starter $19, Business $49 per seat (billed annually) | Not captured | 5 documents a month | Unlimited on paid plans |
| SignNow | Business $8 a month (billed annually) | $20 | Trial only | 100 signature invites a year |
| Zoho Sign | Standard $10 per user (billed yearly) | $12 | 5 envelopes a month | 25 envelopes per user a month |
| SignWell | Light $10 a month (billed annually) | $12 | 3 documents a month | Unlimited documents |
Prices in USD before tax, verified September 2026 on each vendor's linked US pricing page. Dropbox Sign's lower yearly card ($120.60 for Essentials) is a 30% promo for the first year of an annual plan only; billing then resumes at the regular price, so the table uses the regular price.
The spread is wide because the tools sell different units. DocuSign sells envelopes per user, SignNow sells invites, PandaDoc sells seats with a document builder attached, and SignWell sells unlimited documents per sender.
For a solo user, DocuSign Personal at $11 a month and 5 envelopes works out to $2.20 per envelope; Standard at $360 a year for 100 envelopes is $3.60 each.
Is there free e-signature software?
Yes. PandaDoc and Zoho Sign each give you 5 documents a month free, and SignWell gives you 3, all verified September 2026 on their pricing pages. SignWith's free plan covers 3 signed documents a month with no card, and it keeps going after you buy credits. DocuSign has no free plan, only a refund window on annual plans.
The catch with every free tier is the ceiling:
- PandaDoc Free: 5 documents sent and e-signed a month.
- Zoho Sign Free: 5 envelopes a month, one user, no SMS or ID verification credits.
- SignWell Free: 1 sender, 3 documents a month.
- SignWith Free: 3 signed documents a month; they do not roll over.
If you send 5 documents or fewer every single month, a free plan is the cheapest answer, and you should use one.
What does e-signature software cost at 5, 10 or 25 documents a month?
At 5 documents a month a free plan costs $0, at 10 a month paying per document is cheapest, and at 25 a month a $10 unlimited plan wins the first year while a one-time Lifetime Deal wins over three.
The table works each volume for one sender, annual billing unless noted, prices verified September 2026 on the vendor pages linked above.
| Documents a month | Subscription tools, 1 year | Subscription tools, 3 years | SignWith |
|---|---|---|---|
| 5 (60 a year) | PandaDoc Free and Zoho Sign Free $0; SignNow Business $96; DocuSign Personal $132; Dropbox Sign Essentials $180 at the regular yearly price ($120.60 in a promo first year) | SignNow $288; DocuSign Personal $396 | 3 free a month cover 36; one Pro pack covers the other 24 for $19 |
| 10 (120 a year) | SignNow Business $96 plus extra invites (100 a year included); SignWell Light $120; Zoho Sign Standard $120; DocuSign Standard $360 for 100 envelopes, the other 20 at an unpublished per-envelope rate | SignWell Light $360; Zoho Sign Standard $360; DocuSign Standard $1,080 | 84 paid documents a year: one Business, one Pro and one Basic pack, $29 plus $19 plus $9 |
| 25 (300 a year) | SignWell Light $120; Zoho Sign Standard $120 (exactly at its 25 a month cap); Dropbox Sign Essentials $180 at the regular yearly price; DocuSign Standard with 3 users to stay inside 100 envelopes each, $1,080 | SignWell Light $360; Zoho Sign Standard $360; DocuSign Standard $3,240 | Lifetime Deal, $149 one time, cheaper than the packs at this volume |
Competitor prices verified September 2026 on the DocuSign, PandaDoc, SignNow, Zoho Sign, SignWell and Dropbox Sign pricing pages, before tax.
10 signed documents a month for a year
- SignWith, cheapest packs84 paid documents: 1 x Basic + 1 x Pro + 1 x Business$57
- SignWith Lifetime Dealone-time, unlimited credits$149
- SignWell Light, annual$10 per month$120
- Zoho Sign Standard, yearly$10 per seat month, 1 seat$120
- DocuSign Standard, annual$30 per seat month, 1 seat$360
The honest reading of the table:
- At 5 a month, free wins. PandaDoc Free and Zoho Sign Free cost $0 and SignWith costs one Pro pack. Use the free plan.
- At 10 a month, paying per document wins. Three packs cost less than SignWell Light or Zoho Sign Standard at $120, and far less than DocuSign Standard at $360.
- At 25 a month, it depends on the timeframe. For one year SignWell Light and Zoho Sign Standard at $120 cost less than the Lifetime Deal. Over three years they reach $360, and the Lifetime Deal stays at one payment.
25 signed documents a month for three years
- SignWith Lifetime Dealone-time, unlimited credits$149
- SignWell Light, annual$10 per month$360
- Zoho Sign Standard, yearly$10 per seat month, 1 seat$360
- DocuSign Standard, 3 users$30 per seat month, 3 seats$3240
What hidden costs should you look for?
The hidden costs in e-signature software sit in five places: extra seats, document caps, annual lock-in, verification add-ons and API plans. Each item below is quoted or taken from the vendor's own pricing page, verified September 2026.
- Seats. DocuSign, PandaDoc and Zoho Sign price per user, Adobe per license. Dropbox Sign Standard starts at 2 users. SignWell Light charges $10 a month for each extra sender on annual billing ($12 monthly).
- Document caps, including unsigned ones. DocuSign Standard and Business Pro include 100 envelopes per user a year, and an envelope "will count toward this allowance whether or not the Envelope is signed or completed". Extra envelopes are billed at "a set, per-envelope rate" the page does not show. SignNow Business includes 100 invites a year; extra invites are available at a price the page does not show.
- Annual lock-in. On DocuSign's annual plan billed monthly, "If you cancel after the 30-day period, you'll be required to pay the remaining balance on your annual subscription". Adobe Acrobat for teams: "Fee applies of half your remaining annual commitment if you cancel after 14 days." Both DocuSign and Dropbox Sign plans renew on their own, and Dropbox Sign's 30% annual discount covers the first year only, so year two bills Essentials at $180 instead of $120.60. SignWell says "No long-term contracts".
- Verification add-ons. DocuSign SMS delivery starts at $0.36 each and ID verification at $2.40 per attempt. Zoho Sign SMS and ID checks use paid credits, Dropbox Sign SMS authentication is a paid add-on through sales, and PandaDoc recipient verification is annual plans only.
- API access. DocuSign's API Starter plan is $50 a month ($600 billed annually) for a starting 40 envelopes a month, per its developer pricing page. PandaDoc sells its API as an Enterprise add-on.
The costs that are not on the price tag
- 100
- Envelopes per user a year on DocuSign Standard, counted whether or not they are signed
- DocuSign pricing
- Half
- Of the remaining annual commitment, charged if you cancel Acrobat for teams after 14 days
- Adobe pricing
This 6-minute comparison by independent reviewer J. Montiberg walks through DocuSign and SignNow pricing, document limits and hidden costs. Prices in the video may differ from the ones verified here in September 2026.
On SignWith there is no subscription to cancel: you buy credits, and a credit is used only when a document is signed. Declined, voided or expired documents use no credit.
Is paying per document cheaper than paying per seat?
Paying per document is cheaper when your volume is low or uneven, and paying per seat is cheaper when your volume is high and steady. A simple way to tell is the cost-per-signed-document test: divide what a plan costs you in a year by the documents you actually got signed that year.
Run it on your last twelve months:
- Up to 5 documents, every month: use a free plan such as PandaDoc Free or Zoho Sign Free.
- Uneven months, one to a few senders: pay per document. SignWith packs cost as little as $0.58 per signed document on the Business pack, and the free 3 a month bring the average lower.
- 10 to 25 a month, steady, for one year: SignWell Light or Zoho Sign Standard at about $120 a year is hard to beat.
- 10 to 25 a month for several years: the SignWith Lifetime Deal is a single payment.
- A team that needs seats, templates, bulk send or integrations today: a per-seat plan such as DocuSign or PandaDoc.
Which pricing model fits your volume
- Up to 5, every monthGoA free plan: PandaDoc Free or Zoho Sign Free (5 a month)
- Uneven, in bursts, one to a few sendersGoPay per document: SignWith credit packs
- 10 to 25, steady, one senderFor how long?
- One yearGoSignWell Light or Zoho Sign Standard, about $120 a year
- Several yearsGoSignWith Lifetime Deal, one payment
- One year
- A team that needs seats, templates or bulk send nowCheck firstA per-seat plan: DocuSign or PandaDoc
Where does SignWith fit?
SignWith fits people and small teams who want a simple way to get a document signed, with no subscription and no hidden fees. Upload a PDF, add fields, send it, and signers sign in the browser without an account. Our free DocuSign alternatives for small business guide works through the same 10 a month math.
Pick an alternative when:
- You work as a team with B2B workflows. Templates, bulk send, reminders, team accounts, the API and integrations are coming soon on SignWith, not live, so choose DocuSign for those today.
- You build proposals and quotes. PandaDoc's document builder is the better tool.
- Your buyer runs a vendor security review or has regulated-industry requirements. Pick an enterprise vendor such as DocuSign and confirm what they certify with their sales team.
No subscription. You buy credits, and a credit is used only when a document is signed. One credit covers one signed document, however many people sign it.
- Unlimited credits
- Never expires
- One-time payment
Prices in USD. See full pricing
Frequently asked questions
How much does DocuSign cost per month?
- DocuSign eSignature costs $11 a month for Personal (5 envelopes a month), $30 per user for Standard and $45 per user for Business Pro, on annual plans billed monthly, verified September 2026 on DocuSign's US pricing page. Standard and Business Pro include 100 envelopes per user a year.
What is the cheapest e-signature software?
- For up to 5 documents a month, PandaDoc Free and Zoho Sign Free cost nothing. The cheapest paid plan is SignNow Business at $8 a month billed annually, capped at 100 invites a year. For unlimited documents, SignWell Light is $10 a month billed annually (verified September 2026).
Do unsigned documents count toward e-signature limits?
- On DocuSign they do: an envelope counts toward the allowance whether or not it is signed or completed. On SignWith, a credit is used only when a document is signed, so declined, voided or expired documents use no credit.
Can I cancel an annual e-signature plan early?
- Often not for free. DocuSign charges the remaining balance of an annual plan billed monthly if you cancel after 30 days, and Adobe Acrobat for teams charges half the remaining annual commitment after 14 days. SignWell says it has no long-term contracts (verified September 2026).
How much does SignWith cost?
- SignWith has no subscription. Every account gets 3 signed documents free each month, then one-time packs cost $9 for 10 credits, $19 for 25 credits or $29 for 50 credits, valid 12 months. The Lifetime Deal is $149 one-time with unlimited credits. See the free documents help article.
Is e-signature software priced per user or per document?
- Most e-signature software is priced per user per month, with a cap on documents or envelopes. SignWell prices per sender with unlimited documents, SignNow Site License charges $1.50 per signature invite, and SignWith charges per signed document through credits (verified September 2026).
E-signature rules vary by country, state and document type, so check with a legal professional that an e-signature suits your specific agreement before you rely on it.
Primary sources
- DocuSign eSignature plans and pricing, US (verified September 2026)
- DocuSign developer (API) plans and pricing (verified September 2026)
- Adobe Acrobat for business plans and pricing (verified September 2026)
- Dropbox Sign pricing (verified September 2026)
- PandaDoc pricing (verified September 2026)
- SignNow business plans and pricing (verified September 2026)
- Zoho Sign pricing, USD (verified September 2026)
- SignWell pricing (verified September 2026)
Written by
Ayush Garg
Co-founder, SignWith
Ayush is the co-founder of SignWith, the pay-per-document e-signature tool for businesses that just want documents signed without the intensity of a full platform. He worked as a freelancer, then a consultant, then a fractional head of growth, signing contracts with his clients. He has 6+ years of experience running SaaS and service businesses and writes about e-signatures, document workflows, and lean software.
Sign documents without another subscription.
Upload, sign and send in minutes. When you need more than the free documents, buy credits once, and a credit is used only when a document is signed.