DocuSign vs Adobe Sign (2026): Pricing, Features & Which to Pick

DocuSign meters envelopes; Adobe Acrobat Sign comes inside an Acrobat seat with a yearly cap. Prices checked September 2026, who each suits and what users say.

Ayush Garg
Ayush Garg, co-founder of SignWith
Updated 19 min read
Header image for DocuSign vs Adobe Sign (2026): Pricing, Features & Which to Pick

DocuSign sells you envelopes, and Adobe sells you an Acrobat seat that happens to include e-signatures. Pick Adobe Acrobat Sign if your team already pays for Acrobat or edits PDFs every day; pick DocuSign if signing is the whole job and you need its integrations and admin controls. Both bill every month, busy or quiet.

I read both pricing pages in September 2026, gathered what users say on Capterra and Trustpilot, and worked out what each costs over a year at 8 signed documents a month. Is DocuSign owned by Adobe? No. DocuSign, Inc. is its own public company (Nasdaq: DOCU), and Adobe Acrobat Sign is Adobe's product; neither subscription includes the other. Comparing more Adobe Sign competitors than DocuSign? See the Adobe Sign alternatives.

On this page
SignWith homepage, September 2026
SignWith's homepage (September 2026)

How do DocuSign and Adobe Acrobat Sign compare side by side?

DocuSign is an e-signature company that meters envelopes. Adobe folds e-signing into Acrobat, so you pay for a PDF editor seat and signing comes with it. The table shows the plans most small teams choose between, as listed on each vendor's pricing page in September 2026.

FeatureSignWithDocuSignAdobe Acrobat Sign
Cheapest plan that sends for signatureFree: 3 signed documents a month, no card; then one-time packs from $9 for 10 creditsPersonal: $11 a month on an annual plan ($132 a year)Acrobat Standard: $14.99 a month, annual plan
Team planNo seats or team plan; team accounts are coming soonStandard $30 or Business Pro $45 per user a month, annual planAcrobat Standard for teams $16.99 or Acrobat Pro for teams $23.99 per license a month
Sending limit3 free signed documents a month, then one credit per signed documentPersonal 5 envelopes a month; Standard and Business Pro 100 per user a yearUser-license plans: 150 transactions per user a year
Full PDF editor includedNo, you upload a finished PDF, JPEG or PNGNoYes
Reusable templatesYesOn every eSignature planFrom Acrobat Pro
Bulk send and web formsBulk send is coming soon; no web formsFrom Business ProFrom Acrobat Pro
IntegrationsComing soon1,000+ partner integrations listedMicrosoft 365, Google Drive, Dropbox, Box and more
Cancelling an annual plan earlyDoes not apply: no subscription or annual plan to cancelRefund within 30 days on annual plans bought onlineFee of half the remaining commitment after 14 days
Prices checked September 2026, from vendor pricing pages: SignWith pricing, DocuSign pricing, Adobe Acrobat pricing.

The practical difference is what the seat buys. A DocuSign seat is signing capacity. An Adobe seat is a PDF toolkit first, so its value depends on whether you use the rest of Acrobat.

Is Adobe Sign included with Adobe Acrobat?

Yes, the basic version is. Adobe's own plan FAQ says Acrobat Standard lets you "fill out forms, sign documents, and request e-signatures", and Acrobat Pro adds reusable e-sign templates, web forms, branded agreements and bulk sending. If you already pay for Acrobat, you already own a working signing tool.

"Adobe Sign" can mean two different products, though:

  • E-sign inside Acrobat: part of Acrobat Standard, Pro and Studio, for individuals and teams.
  • Acrobat Sign Solutions: Adobe's standalone enterprise e-signature product, sold through sales, with custom pricing and the deeper compliance scope.

What does each plan really cost in September 2026?

Both vendors lead with annual pricing, so the headline number assumes you commit for 12 months. DocuSign's pricing page listed these plans in September 2026:

  • Personal: $11 a month on an annual plan ($132 a year), one user, 5 envelopes a month.
  • Standard: $30 per user a month on an annual plan ($360 a year per user), 100 envelopes per user per year.
  • Business Pro: $45 per user a month ($540 a year per user), the same allowance, plus bulk send, web forms and payment collection.
  • Enhanced plans: custom pricing through sales.

DocuSign counts an envelope once it is sent, whether or not anyone signs it, and bills extra envelopes over your allowance pay-as-you-go.

Adobe's pricing page listed these US prices in September 2026, on an annual plan billed monthly:

  • Acrobat Standard: $14.99 a month, one user, including requesting e-signatures and tracking responses.
  • Acrobat Pro: $19.99 a month, adding templates, web forms, bulk sending and redaction.
  • Acrobat Standard for teams: $16.99 per license a month, with an admin console.
  • Acrobat Pro for teams: $23.99 per license a month, the plan Adobe's e-sign page points small businesses to.

Every one of those Adobe plans carries the same line: a fee of half your remaining annual commitment if you cancel after 14 days.

By the numbers

The limits that set your real price

5
Envelopes a month on DocuSign Personal
DocuSign pricing
100
Envelopes per user per year on DocuSign Standard and Business Pro
DocuSign pricing
150
E-sign transactions per user per year on Adobe user licenses
Adobe transaction limits
14 days
Before Adobe charges half the remaining annual commitment to cancel
Adobe Acrobat pricing
1,000+
Partner integrations DocuSign lists on its plans
DocuSign pricing
Checked Sep 2026

What is DocuSign best at?

DocuSign is the safer pick when an agreement has to get past legal, procurement or IT. Every eSignature plan lists reusable templates, a real-time audit trail and more than 1,000 partner integrations, and recipients sign without a DocuSign account.

DocuSign homepage, September 2026
DocuSign's homepage (September 2026)

The trade-off is that you pay for signing alone. If you also need to edit the contract, redact a clause or convert a Word file, that is another tool and another bill.

DocuSign strengths
  • Pro: Built for signing first, so the sender and signer flow is simple.
  • Pro: Reusable templates and a real-time audit trail on every eSignature plan.
  • Pro: More than 1,000 partner integrations listed, plus APIs.
  • Pro: Enhanced plans add SSO and custom envelope limits through sales.
DocuSign weaknesses
  • Con: Personal stops at 5 envelopes a month.
  • Con: Standard and Business Pro allow 100 envelopes per user per year.
  • Con: An envelope counts once sent, signed or not.
  • Con: No PDF editor: editing and converting files needs another tool.

What is Adobe Acrobat Sign best at?

Adobe is the better buy when your documents start life as PDFs you have to fix before anyone signs. You edit the file, redact what should not go out, add fields and send it, all in Acrobat. For a team that already lives in Acrobat, that removes a whole tool from the stack.

Adobe Acrobat Sign homepage, September 2026
Adobe Acrobat Sign's homepage (September 2026)

The catch is the contract. Adobe's "annual, billed monthly" plans look monthly on a card statement, and cancelling early costs money. One Trustpilot reviewer described it this way:

"We signed up for an Adobe Acrobat business account under what we understood to be a monthly plan, only to be hit with a $204 early termination fee when we cancelled."

Caleb Bower on Trustpilot, May 2026

Adobe Acrobat Sign strengths
  • Pro: E-signing is included in Acrobat Standard and Pro, so many teams already own it.
  • Pro: A full PDF editor: edit, convert, redact and organize before you send.
  • Pro: Acrobat Pro adds reusable templates, web forms and bulk sending.
  • Pro: Works with Microsoft 365, Google Drive, Dropbox and Box.
Adobe Acrobat Sign weaknesses
  • Con: User-license plans cap e-signing at 150 transactions per user per year.
  • Con: Cancelling an annual plan after 14 days costs half the remaining commitment.
  • Con: The advanced product, Acrobat Sign Solutions, is priced only through sales.
  • Con: You pay for a whole PDF suite even if you only need signatures.

This short head-to-head from HowToHarbor covers features, integrations and pricing tiers for both tools. It is older than the 2026 in its title suggests, so check prices against the tables above.

HowToHarbor · 4 min 7 sWatch on YouTube

What do users like and complain about?

DocuSign users rate the signing experience highly on Capterra, while its Trustpilot page is mostly about renewals and billing.

What users say about DocuSign
What users like
What users complain about
  • “Cost is the main thing that bugs me since the plans scale up quickly if you need more advanced features or higher volume and for a smaller dealership that starts to feel like a lot for something that’s essentially replacing a stack of paper.”
  • “While it is easy for the person signing, the backend administration dashboard can feel a bit complex and cluttered when you are trying to manage user permissions or set up advanced templates for the first time.”
  • “With most companies a monthly subscription is month to month until cancelled. With docusign a monthly subscription is a 1 year subscription!”

Review snapshot checked Oct 2026.

Adobe sells e-signing inside Acrobat, so Capterra and Trustpilot rate Adobe Acrobat as a whole rather than the signing feature alone. The split is the same: praise for getting documents signed quickly, complaints about per-user pricing and cancellation fees.

What users say about Adobe Acrobat Sign
What users like
What users complain about

Review snapshot checked Oct 2026.

Which one is more secure and compliant?

Both vendors publish their security credentials, so this is a fact check. Here is what each listed in September 2026:

  • DocuSign: its pricing page lists SOC 2 Type II on every eSignature plan, and HIPAA support through a BAA on Enhanced plans, through sales.
  • Adobe: its compliance list shows SOC 2 Type 2 and "HIPAA ready" for Acrobat Sign Solutions for enterprise, the product sold through sales.

If your business needs HIPAA or SOC 2, go with one of them and confirm the plan with sales before you buy. If you just need your business documents signed without paying extra for that, use SignWith.

Which is better for whom?

The right pick depends on what you do with a document before it is signed. By user type:

  • Anyone who signs occasionally or in bursts and doesn't want a monthly subscription: SignWith. No subscription and no seats: you buy credits, and a credit is used only when a document is signed. Your recipients sign on any device with no account.
  • Freelancers and consultants signing a few client contracts a month: neither fits well. DocuSign Personal runs out at 5 envelopes, and Acrobat is a PDF suite you may not need. Compare the free DocuSign alternatives first.
  • Teams that edit, redact or convert PDFs daily: Adobe Acrobat Pro. Signing comes with the editor you already need.
  • Companies with legal, procurement or IT review: DocuSign. Admin controls, integrations and the Enhanced plans are what you pay for.
  • Teams that outgrew Adobe's cap or contract terms: see the Adobe Sign alternatives before you renew.
Decision guide

DocuSign or Adobe Acrobat Sign: which fits you

Do you already pay for Acrobat, or edit PDFs most days?
  • Yes
    GoAdobe Acrobat Sign
  • No
    Do you need admin controls, integrations or regulated-industry options?
    • Yes
      GoDocuSign
    • No
      Do you sign more than 5 documents in most months?
      • Yes
        Check firstCompare the yearly cost below
      • No
        GoA free or pay-per-document plan
Source: DocuSign pricing, Adobe Acrobat pricing. Checked Sep 2026

The tree in words: if you already pay for Acrobat or edit PDFs most days, pick Adobe. If not, but you need admin controls, integrations or regulated-industry options, pick DocuSign. If you need neither and sign 5 or fewer documents most months, a free or pay-per-document plan covers you; above that, the yearly cost decides it.

This older clip from Capterra's channel has real users explaining why they moved from DocuSign to Adobe Sign and what each is best for. It dates from February 2022 and uses the old product name, so treat it as user opinion rather than current pricing.

Capterra · 2 min 43 sWatch on YouTube

What does a year cost at 8 documents a month?

For one sender, Adobe's plans cost less than DocuSign Standard, and 8 documents a month (96 a year) sits under both the 100-envelope and the 150-transaction caps. The table uses the annual prices listed in September 2026, before tax.

Plan (annual)Listed price1 user, 1 year3 users, 1 yearSending limit
SignWith Free plus packs3 signed documents free a month, then one-time packs from $9 for 10 creditsone Business pack and one Basic pack, $38Does not apply: no seats, and team accounts are coming soonOne credit per signed document
DocuSign Personal$11 a month$132Single user only5 envelopes a month
DocuSign Standard$30 per user a month$360$1,080100 envelopes per user a year
DocuSign Business Pro$45 per user a month$540$1,620100 envelopes per user a year
Acrobat Standard$14.99 a month$179.88Single user onlyNot stated on the plan card
Acrobat Pro$19.99 a month$239.88Single user onlyNot stated on the plan card
Acrobat Standard for teams$16.99 per license a month$203.88$611.64150 transactions per user a year
Acrobat Pro for teams$23.99 per license a month$287.88$863.64150 transactions per user a year

Prices checked September 2026 on DocuSign's pricing page and Adobe's pricing page; the 150-transaction cap is from Adobe's help center.

DocuSign Personal stops at 5 envelopes a month, so it cannot cover 8. For a team, the real choice is DocuSign Standard at $360 per user a year or Acrobat Pro for teams at $287.88 (checked September 2026, Adobe pricing).

Cost comparison

8 signed documents a month for a year, one sender

Assumes 8 signed documents a month for 12 months (96 documents) and one sender. DocuSign Personal caps at 5 envelopes a month, so it cannot cover this volume.Source: DocuSign pricing, Adobe Acrobat pricing, SignWith pricing. Checked Sep 2026

On SignWith, the free allowance covers 3 documents every month, and one Business pack and one Basic pack, $38 in total, cover the rest of the year. The Lifetime Deal is $199 one-time and never expires.

Where does SignWith fit?

We built SignWith for the reader neither plan suits: one or two people signing client contracts, NDAs and agreements a few times a month, unevenly. There is no subscription: you buy credits, and a credit is used only when a document is signed.

  • Upload a PDF, JPEG or PNG, add signature, date, text and checkbox fields, and set the signing order.
  • Your recipients sign in the browser on any device, with no account.
  • Every completed document comes with a Certificate of Completion that records timestamps, IP addresses, device and browser details and email events, sealed with a SHA-256 hash.

Templates, automatic reminders and the SignWith API are live. Bulk send, team accounts and integrations are coming soon, so if you need them today, DocuSign or Adobe is the better fit for now. SignWith is used by 1,000+ businesses.

If you would rather send from your own code or an AI assistant, SignWith has a REST API and an MCP server for Claude, ChatGPT, Cursor and VS Code. Both come with every account and use the same pay-per-document credits: 3 free documents a month, then credits, with no subscription or developer plan.

Pricing
SignWith pricing

No subscription. You buy credits, and a credit is used only when a document is signed. One credit covers one signed document, however many people sign it.

Best value
Lifetime Deal
  • Unlimited signed documents
  • Never expires, no renewals
  • Every feature in every pack
  • Priority support & feature requests
Was $299$199Save 33%
Get lifetime access
Basic pack
$9
10 credits
$0.90 per signed document
Valid 12 months
Get started
Pro pack
$19
25 credits
$0.76 per signed document
Valid 12 months
Get started
Business pack
$29
50 credits
$0.58 per signed document
Valid 12 months
Get started

Every pack includes: Templates, Automatic reminders, Email OTP verification, Signing order, Audit trail, Certificate of Completion, Folder management, API integration, Claude, ChatGPT & other agents.

Free: 3 signed documents every month, no card, no rollover. Start freeEnterprise: custom. Talk to founder

Prices in USD. See full pricing

One credit covers one signed document, however many people sign it, and the free documents keep coming every month after you buy a pack. If you mostly send finished PDFs, the guide to sending documents for e-signature walks through it.

FAQ

Frequently asked questions

Is DocuSign owned by Adobe?

No. DocuSign, Inc. is an independent public company (Nasdaq: DOCU), and Adobe Acrobat Sign is Adobe's own e-signature product. They compete directly. An Adobe subscription does not include DocuSign, and a DocuSign plan does not include Acrobat.

Do I already have Adobe Sign if I pay for Acrobat?

Yes, the basic version. Adobe says Acrobat Standard lets you request e-signatures and track responses, and Acrobat Pro adds templates, web forms and bulk sending. The standalone enterprise product, Acrobat Sign Solutions, is sold separately through Adobe sales.

Which is cheaper, DocuSign or Adobe Sign?

Adobe, for one sender. Acrobat Pro for teams is $23.99 per license a month and DocuSign Standard is $30 per user a month, both on annual plans. Prices checked September 2026 on Adobe pricing and DocuSign pricing.

How many documents can I send with Adobe Sign?

Adobe says plans sold as user licenses include 150 transactions per user per year unless your contract says otherwise. DocuSign Standard and Business Pro include 100 envelopes per user per year, and Personal 5 a month.

Can I cancel an Adobe Acrobat plan at any time?

Adobe's annual plans billed monthly carry a fee of half your remaining annual commitment if you cancel after 14 days, as its pricing page states. Trustpilot reviewers complain about this more than anything else.

Are DocuSign and Adobe Sign signatures legally binding?

Both produce electronic signatures with an audit trail, and in the US electronic signatures are generally valid under the ESIGN Act and UETA. Some documents, like wills, have their own rules, so check before you send them.

What is a good alternative if I only sign a few documents a month?

A pay-per-document tool. With SignWith, every account gets 3 signed documents free each month; after that you buy credits, and a credit is used only when a document is signed. Packs start at $9 for 10 credits. For another head-to-head, read DocuSign vs PandaDoc.

Primary sources

Ayush Garg

Written by

Ayush Garg

Co-founder, SignWith

Ayush is the co-founder of SignWith, the pay-per-document e-signature tool for businesses that just want documents signed without the intensity of a full platform. He worked as a freelancer, then a consultant, then a fractional head of growth, signing contracts with his clients. He has 6+ years of experience running SaaS and service businesses and writes about e-signatures, document workflows, and lean software.

Sign documents without another subscription.

Upload, sign and send in minutes. When you need more than the free documents, buy credits once, and a credit is used only when a document is signed.

3
Free documents every month
$0.58
Per document on Business
1,000+
Businesses signing