Documenso Review 2026: Pricing, Features & Honest Verdict
Documenso review: 5 free documents a month, $300 a year for unlimited, the fair-use catch, what self-hosting really takes, its MCP server, and what users say.
Documenso is the best-known open-source alternative to DocuSign. You can use it in the cloud, where 5 documents a month are free and the paid plans start at $300 a year, or you can run the code on your own server (checked October 2026).
Very few people have reviewed it in public. Product Hunt has 13 reviews, G2 has one, which G2 itself leaves out of its score, there is no Trustpilot profile, and I found no Capterra listing. So this review also uses the forums where self-hosters write about it: Reddit, Hacker News, the Cloudron forum and Documenso's own GitHub issues.
My Documenso review in one line: a clean, honest signing tool with a free plan that beats most rivals and a flat price for heavy senders, but self-hosting it takes real work, and "unlimited" comes with a fair-use policy.
On this page
Documenso review verdict: who it's for and who should skip it
Documenso is worth it at both ends of the volume scale. If you send 5 documents a month or fewer, the Free plan covers you at $0. If you send a lot, Individual at $300 a year has no document cap, so every extra document makes it cheaper per document.
It is also one of the few signing tools you can host yourself, with code you can read.
It is a weaker fit in the middle. Someone who sends 8 or 15 documents a month pays the full $300 a year, and someone who wants to self-host for free gets an edition Documenso labels for testing, plus a server to run.
Best for: occasional senders who stay within 5 documents a month; freelancers and small businesses that send dozens a month; teams of up to 5 people (Teams plan); developers who want an open-source signing engine, an API and an MCP server; companies that must keep documents on their own servers.
Skip if: you send 6 to about 50 documents a month on your own, you want month-to-month billing shown on the pricing page, or you want to self-host in production without a paid licence or a person to run the server.
Here is how users rate Documenso on review sites, checked October 7, 2026.
| Platform | Rating | Number of reviews | Checked |
|---|---|---|---|
| Product Hunt | 5.0 / 5 | 13 reviews | October 2026 |
| G2 | Not rated | 1 review, left out of G2's score | October 2026 |
| Trustpilot | No profile | None | October 2026 |
| Capterra | No listing found | None | October 2026 |
| GetApp | Listed, no reviews | 0 | October 2026 |
| Apple App Store and Google Play | No app found | None | October 2026 |
Source: Product Hunt. G2 shows a single Documenso review, and G2 marks the reviewer as a business partner of the seller or a competitor, so it is not counted in G2's score and is not quoted here. Seven of the 13 Product Hunt reviews are from people Product Hunt lists as founders of other products.
What users say about Documenso, 2023 to 2026
There is not much public user voice for Documenso, and most of what exists comes from two groups: founders on Product Hunt, who mostly praise it, and self-hosters on Reddit, Hacker News and the Cloudron forum, who write about installing and running it.
I read everything I could find and date, from 2023 to 2026, and kept the complaints in full.
The pattern: the hosted product gets praise for its interface and its openness, and the complaints are about running it yourself (certificates, emails, upgrades and documents stuck on pending), plus the price step from free to $300 a year.
| Where the quotes below come from | Quote cards | People |
|---|---|---|
| Reddit (r/selfhosted, r/sysadmin, r/opensource) | 12 | 7 |
| Product Hunt | 6 | 6 |
| Cloudron forum | 5 | 4 |
| Hacker News | 2 | 2 |
| joost.blog | 2 | 1 |
| GitHub issues | 1 | 1 |
Below, the quotes are grouped by theme, complaints in full and a few positives. Every quote is copied as written, dated and linked to where it was posted.
Product Hunt shows only how long ago a review was posted (for example "11mo ago"), so those cards show the year that works out to, counted back from October 7, 2026. Reviews from 2023 describe an early version of Documenso, so read the date on each card.
Pricing and billing: free, then a jump to $300
I found no complaint about a charge, a renewal or a refund. The price complaint I found is about the size of the first paid step, from 2023, when commenters quoted $30 a month. One Product Hunt reviewer says his company signed on as a paying customer, and a 2026 commenter calls it affordable.
“WTF? Considering that DocuSign is $25 or even $10 and has the name and weight behind it, I can't imagine that they are selling many subs.”
Replying to a comment that "Documenso is $30/month". Today the pricing page shows Individual at $300 a year, billed yearly.
“Is OIDC free with Documenso or do you need the enterprise license?...”
A self-hoster asking which features need a paid licence. No answer is shown in the thread.
“Documenso is also affordable...”
Answering someone who left SignNow after a price rise. He goes on to name two compliance standards Documenso meets.
“Today, we signed on as a paying customer of Documenso, Inc. and are thrilled to see the open source community stand up and take on this stagnant and parasitic incumbent.”
He says his company became a paying customer.
“Documenso is a great tool to have for your company. If you have someone who can set it up for you, it’s a great addition to your companies toolbelt without having to pay for Docusign.”
From a post about moving his company's signing to a self-hosted Documenso.
Documenso's pricing page shows yearly billing for every paid plan. The month-to-month price is not shown on the page I checked, so I don't quote one.
Support: thin documentation, say two self-hosters
The support complaints I found come from self-hosters. One says the documentation is "not great"; another says some features are simply under-documented. A 2026 commenter praises the developers on GitHub.
“They're documentation is not great, but also you have to be subscribed to them in order to get help.”
Copied as written, at the end of a post about days of setup trouble.
“I think it's just overlooked like a lot of other things in this project. For example, OIDC SSO is not documented much but is 100% functional...”
“...the devs are pretty decent people (interacting with them on Github).”
The same comment as above.
Documenso's own pages match this. Individual and Teams include email support. The free Community Edition gets community support only, and the Fair Use Policy tells self-hosters: "We are not your operations team" (checked October 2026).
Ease of use: clean to use, hard to install
Product Hunt reviewers describe it as simple and fast. Users who install it describe days of work, and one early reviewer called the app a work in progress in 2023.
“Been trying to install it for DAYS and there is always one thing or another. Got everything down, but I keep having a certificate error.”
“I can confirm the signature card on the dashboard is buggy. Although, it works fine if you access it directly through the portal that can be accessed through the emails.”
“the UX is a bit fidgety but looks like its much better now in 2.0”
Under "What needs improvement". Under "What's great" he wrote: "we use it for all our docs, great tool!"
“The initial impression though is that the app, while functional, is a work in progress.”
Written while packaging an early version, before Documenso's first production release.
“...Documenso is great. OIDC works perfect and overall a joy to use.”
After a file-permission problem with the signing certificate.
“Pretty good product. I have used it for my freelancing contracts and the ui is intuitive, fast and just works!”
“I love the simplicity of onboarding and the possibility of having something rival DocuSign on so many levels.”
Signer experience: documents stuck on pending
Most of the signer-side complaints I found are from self-hosted setups: signers who see a spinner, documents that never reach "Complete", and completion emails that don't arrive. Forum replies traced one of them to the signing certificate's file permissions, which the cloud plans handle for you.
“When send to 2 users, the status is stuck on pending and the signed document is not available to download.”
Self-hosted, version 1.11.0. With one signer, he says, everything worked.
“Whenever I try to complete a test signature, the “user” only gets a spinning icon after clicking “sign.””
He adds that the document stayed on "pending" and could not be downloaded. Forum replies pointed to the signing certificate's file permissions and the app's memory.
“Emails notifications are down for signed agreements”
The issue title. The next day, May 16, 2026, Documenso's status page logged an email-sending problem, resolved within about 15 minutes.
“Signatures can be added with mouse / touch or by just typing your name (unfortunately, this cannot be turned off).”
About version 0.9, the first production release.
Email is the signer's front door, and Documenso changed it in 2026. Its status page shows that from June 4, 2026, "Due to ongoing abuse on the platform", email sending was disabled for new free plans for a few days; signing links still worked and could be shared by hand.
Since June 10, 2026, mail from free plans and new Individual plans comes from separate sending domains, so that abuse on those plans does not hurt deliverability for Documenso's other customers.
Features, integrations, and Documenso's own API and MCP server
The feature complaints are about gaps in early versions, self-hosted upgrades and single sign-on, and two built-in service accounts that worried self-hosters until a fix in February 2026. The praise is for its openness and its growing standards support.
“Watchout! Documenso, even when you host it on your own, automatically adds two users that cannot be deleted. If you delete them, it breaks.”
About two service accounts on documenso.com addresses. A GitHub issue raised it on February 15, 2026. Documenso replied that nobody at Documenso had ever accessed a self-hosted instance through these accounts, and merged a fix the next day that gives them addresses on your own instance's domain. In the thread, he later wrote: "Thankfully they fixed it."
“...v1.12.1 is causing some migration issues.”
Explaining why he was still on version 1.11.1.
“Anyone here has been able to integrate EntraID with documenso without tempering the code”
Microsoft Entra ID sign-in stopped at an "Account email is not verified" error.
“I’ve not been able to get it to do initials yet, which might get annoying for some document types.”
Otherwise, he wrote, it "looks pretty feature complete".
“The feature set is extremely basic, but the project looks very promising.”
About version 0.9. Documenso has added fields, templates and the API since.
“...I don't love that but it isn't the end of the world.”
On the AGPL licence: his reading is that if you modify Documenso, you must offer your changed code for download too.
“Thank you for your product Hope you will have more integration features like widgets in nearest future”
“Documenso is a pretty cool alternative that is increasingly compliant with more and more e-signature standards”
“It feels like signing infrastructure for modern teams and builders.”
I found no user reviews about Documenso's API or its MCP server.
What Documenso is and its key features
Documenso is an e-signature platform whose code is public on GitHub under the AGPL-3.0 licence. Documenso, Inc. runs the hosted version, and anyone can run the same code on their own server. It launched in 2023 and released version 2.0 in November 2025. Our DocuSign review covers the tool it set out to replace.
You upload a PDF, place fields, add recipients and send. Recipients sign in the browser. Here is what the plans include, per Documenso's pricing page, checked October 7, 2026:
| Feature | Free | Individual | Teams | Platform |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Price, billed yearly | $0 | $300 a year | $480 a year | $3,000 a year |
| Documents | 5 a month | Unlimited, fair use | Unlimited, fair use | Unlimited, fair use |
| Recipients per document | Up to 10 | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated |
| Users | Not stated | Not stated | 5 included, $8 a month each extra | Unlimited |
| API | Not listed | "for Personal Use" | "for Automation" | Unlimited |
| Embedded signing | Not listed | Not listed | Yes | Yes, white-label |
| Support | Not stated | "Integration Support (Slack)" |
Documenso's site also lists templates, direct signing links, a public profile page, webhooks, Zapier and white-labelling, and its website comes in English, French, Spanish and German. Enterprise is priced on request, in the cloud or self-hosted.
What Documenso does well
These are Documenso's real strengths, from its own pages and the reviews above.
- A real free plan. 5 documents a month with up to 10 recipients each, no card, no time limit. That is more than many paid rivals give for free.
- One flat price at volume. Individual at $300 a year has no document cap, so a heavy sender pays the same for 50 or 500 documents a month, within fair use.
- Open code. You can read how your documents are signed and stored, and run it yourself. Several Product Hunt reviewers praise it for this.
- Built for developers. An API on every paid plan, webhooks, embedding and an official MCP server.
- Compliance is moving fast. SOC 2 and HIPAA in the cloud, and work on advanced and qualified signatures (AES and QES) published through 2026.
Documenso pricing in 2026 (checked October 2026)
Documenso's pricing page, checked October 7, 2026, shows four cloud plans, all shown as yearly billing:
| Plan | Monthly price shown | Billed yearly | Saving shown | Users | Documents |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Free | $0 | $0 | None | Not stated | 5 a month |
| Individual | $25 a month | $300 | "Save $60" | Not stated | Unlimited, fair use |
| Teams | $40 a month | $480 | "Save $120 /yr." | 5, then $8 a month each | Unlimited, fair use |
| Platform | $250 a month | $3,000 | "Save $600" | Unlimited | Unlimited, fair use |
| Enterprise | Contact sales | Custom | None | Custom | Custom |
The page shows no per-document overage, SMS or ID-verification prices. For a tool priced per contract with no subscription instead, see our eSignatures.com review. It also does not print a month-to-month price; the savings shown suggest one exists, but I could not confirm it, so I don't quote it.
The rules behind "unlimited" are in Documenso's Fair Use Policy, checked October 2026:
- The promise: "We offer our plans without limits on signing or API volume". If you go beyond a plan's scope, "We will ask you to upgrade to a fitting plan or custom pricing. We will not block your account without reaching out."
- What not to do: "Use an individual account's API to power a platform or product." "Run a large company signing thousands of documents per day on a small team plan." "Use a team plan to power an external platform or commercial product or platform beyond moderate testing."
- Rate limits: 1000 API requests a minute, 20 file uploads a minute and 3 AI feature requests a minute, per user or API token.
The Documenso numbers that set your real price
- 5
- Free documents a month, up to 10 recipients each
- Documenso pricing
- $300
- A year for Individual, unlimited documents within fair use
- Documenso pricing
- $480
- A year for Teams, 5 users included
- Documenso pricing
- $8
- A month for each Teams user after 5
- Documenso pricing
- $3,000
- A year for Platform, the plan for powering a product
- Documenso pricing
- 1000
- API requests a minute, per user or token
- Documenso Fair Use Policy
Cloud or self-hosted: what the free open-source edition really costs
The code is free, but running it in production is not. Documenso's self-hosted page, checked October 7, 2026, lists three editions:
| Edition | Price | Intended for | Support | Infrastructure support |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Community Edition (CE) | "Free Forever" | Testing, evaluation, internal proofs of concept | Community only | No |
| Business Edition (BE) | "Fixed Yearly License", price not published | Production use | "Reliable Support" | No |
| Enterprise Edition (EE) | "Tailored Pricing" | Large, mission-critical deployments | Priority, with SLAs | No |
To run it, you need more than the app. Documenso's self-hosting docs cover a PostgreSQL database, an email (SMTP) server, file storage and your own signing certificate: "Documenso does not ship with one. Without a certificate, the application starts normally but document signing will fail." The same docs say: "You are responsible for your own network security."
That matches the reviews above: most self-hosting complaints are about certificates, email and upgrades. If you have someone who runs servers for a living, it is a real option. If you don't, the cloud plans are the simpler route.
Two more facts for self-hosters. Since June 18, 2026, Documenso has paused pull requests from outside contributors, citing supply-chain security; the code is still public. And the code is licensed under AGPL-3.0, so if you change it and let other people use your changed version, you must offer them your changed code.
Does Documenso have an API and an MCP server?
Yes, both. The API comes with every paid cloud plan at no extra fee, but the plan decides what you can do with it: Individual is "API Access for Personal Use", Teams is "API Access for Automation", and only Platform is meant for powering a product.
The MCP server comes with Documenso's official TypeScript SDK. Its README says the SDK "is also an installable MCP server where the various SDK methods are exposed as tools that can be invoked by AI applications."
You run it on your own computer with npx and your API key, with setup shown for Claude Desktop and Cursor, and it needs Node.js 20 or newer. It is not a hosted connector you add by URL (checked October 7, 2026).
Is Documenso secure and compliant?
Documenso's trust center lists SOC 2, HIPAA and 21 CFR Part 11, without saying which SOC 2 report type or giving a date.
On March 11, 2026, its blog announced "Documenso Is Now HIPAA Compliant", with a Business Associate Agreement you can request; the post says the agreement "becomes valid only after review and countersignature by the Documenso team" and does not say which plans qualify.
Its site also has pages on the US ESIGN Act, UETA and 21 CFR Part 11. If you need a BAA or Part 11 controls, get the terms in writing for your plan before you send health or regulated data.
Documenso in 2026
- Jan 30, 2026Business Edition for self-hosting announcedA fixed yearly licence for production use; the price is not published.
- Feb 16, 2026Service account fix mergedBuilt-in accounts now use your own instance domain, after a self-hoster report.
- Mar 11, 2026HIPAA announcedBAA available on request, valid after Documenso countersigns.
- May 16, 2026Email sending issueLogged on the status page and resolved within about 15 minutes.
- Jun 4 to 9, 2026Email paused for new free plansBecause of abuse; free plan mail moved to a separate sending domain.
- Jun 18, 2026External pull requests pausedTo defend against supply-chain attacks.
Where Documenso falls short
The weak points are around the product more than in it. Each comes from Documenso's own pages, checked October 2026, or from the reviews above.
- A big step from free to paid. Free stops at 5 documents a month. The next plan is $300 a year, with nothing in between.
- Yearly billing on the pricing page. Every paid plan is shown billed yearly, and no month-to-month price is printed.
- "Unlimited" has a fair-use policy. Documenso can ask you to upgrade if your use goes beyond the plan's purpose, and the Individual API cannot power a product.
- Free self-hosting is for testing. The Community Edition is labelled for testing, evaluation and internal proofs of concept, the Business Edition price is not published, and no edition includes infrastructure support.
- Self-hosting takes skill. Reviewers describe days of setup, certificate errors, documents stuck on pending and upgrade problems.
- Free plan email changed in 2026. Free plan mail now comes from a separate sending domain, after a pause for new free plans in June 2026.
- Very few public reviews. No Trustpilot or Capterra reviews and one G2 review that G2 does not count, so there is little outside evidence about cloud support or billing.
What a year of Documenso costs at 5, 10 and 25 documents a month
At real small-business volumes, one sender pays $0, $300 or $300 a year in the cloud. The table uses the cheapest plan that covers each volume, on prices checked October 7, 2026 on Documenso's pricing page, before tax:
| Volume, one sender | Cheapest Documenso plan that fits | 1 year | 3 years | Per document |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 5 a month (60 a year) | Free, which covers exactly 5 a month | $0 | $0 | $0 |
| 10 a month (120 a year) | Individual, billed yearly | $300 | $900 | $2.50 |
| 25 a month (300 a year) | Individual, billed yearly | $300 | $900 | $1.00 |
At 5 a month Documenso is free, and at higher volumes the price stays at $300 a year, so the cost per document keeps falling. A sixth document in any month means the paid plan. Self-hosting is not in the table, because the Business Edition price is not published and your server costs depend on your setup.
Which Documenso plan fits you
Match the plan to who sends and what you do with the API.
| You are | Plan | Why |
|---|---|---|
| One person sending up to 5 documents a month | Free | $0, up to 10 recipients per document |
| One person sending more than 5 a month | Individual, $300 a year | Unlimited documents; API for personal use |
| A team of up to 5 people, or automating your own work | Teams, $480 a year | 5 users, API for automation, embedded signing |
| A company putting signing inside its own product | Platform, $3,000 a year | Unlimited users and API, white-label embedding |
| A company that must keep documents on its own servers | Business or Enterprise Edition, through sales | Production licence and support; you run the servers |
| Someone testing Documenso on a home server | Community Edition | Free, for testing and evaluation |
Which Documenso plan fits you
- YesCheck firstBusiness or Enterprise Edition, through sales
- NoWill you power your own product or app with the API?
- YesCheck firstPlatform, $3,000 a year
- NoMore than one user?
- YesGoTeams, $480 a year for 5 users
- NoGoFree up to 5 a month, then Individual at $300 a year
- Yes
- Yes
The tree in words:
- Need it on your own servers in production: talk to Documenso about the Business or Enterprise Edition.
- Powering your own product with the API: Platform.
- More than one user: Teams.
- Otherwise, Free up to 5 documents a month, then Individual.
How I reviewed Documenso
I and my team have used Documenso. For this review I also read Documenso's own pages and what its users wrote from 2023 to 2026, and checked everything again on October 7, 2026:
- Vendor pages: the pricing page, the Fair Use Policy, the self-hosted editions page, the self-hosting documentation, the TypeScript SDK README, the trust center, the status page events log, and blog posts from January to August 2026.
- Review platforms: all 13 Product Hunt reviews, which show only relative dates. G2 has one review, which G2 marks as from a business partner or competitor and leaves out of its score, so it is not quoted. Trustpilot has no Documenso profile, I found no Capterra listing, and GetApp lists Documenso with no reviews. I found no App Store or Google Play app and no Google reviews.
- Forums: Reddit comments in r/selfhosted, r/sysadmin and r/opensource dated 2024 to 2026, Hacker News comments from 2023 and 2025, Cloudron forum threads from 2023 to 2025, Documenso's GitHub issues, and one 2024 blog post by a company that moved to Documenso.
Who should skip Documenso, and what to use instead
Keep Documenso if:
- you send 5 documents a month or fewer: the Free plan costs nothing, and SignWith's free allowance is smaller
- you send more than about 50 documents a month: $300 a year flat beats paying per document
- you need team accounts, templates, embedding, open-source code or self-hosting today
If your business needs a HIPAA BAA or SOC 2, Documenso offers both; if you just need your business documents signed without paying extra for that, use SignWith.
Skip Documenso if you are one or two people who send more than 5 documents in some months and fewer in others, and don't want to pay $300 for a year to cover the busy months. That is who we built SignWith for.
SignWith has no seats and no subscription. You buy credits, and a credit is used only when a document is signed. Every signed document uses one of your free monthly documents or a credit, including one that only you sign, and a declined, voided or expired document uses none.
- Upload a PDF, JPEG or PNG, add signature, date, text and checkbox fields, and set the signing order.
- Your recipients sign in the browser on any device, with no account.
- Every completed document comes with a Certificate of Completion that records timestamps, IP addresses, device and browser details and email events, sealed with a SHA-256 hash.
10 signed documents a month for a year, one sender
- SignWith, cheapest packs84 paid documents: 1 x Basic + 1 x Pro + 1 x Business$57
- SignWith Lifetime Dealone-time, unlimited credits$149
- Documenso Individual, billed yearly$300 per year$300
Here is the same year at all three volumes. Documenso prices checked October 7, 2026; SignWith prices render from our pricing data, and the free monthly documents continue after you buy packs.
| Volume | Documenso, 1 year | SignWith, 1 year |
|---|---|---|
| 5 a month | $0 (Free) | 3 free a month cover 36 documents; one Pro pack covers the other 24 for $19 |
| 10 a month | $300 (Individual) | 84 paid documents: one Business, one Pro and one Basic pack, $29 plus $19 plus $9 |
| 25 a month | $300 (Individual) | 264 paid documents: five Business and two Basic packs, or the Lifetime Deal at $149 one-time, cheaper than buying packs |
In plain numbers, for the first year:
- 5 a month: Documenso wins. Its Free plan covers it at $0.
- 10 a month: SignWith costs less: three packs against $300.
- 25 a month: SignWith costs less, and the Lifetime Deal at $149 one-time covers every year after. Above about 50 a month, Documenso's flat $300 a year comes out ahead of buying SignWith packs.
Documenso has an API and an official MCP server too, so the difference here is the billing model, not the AI access:
- An API and an MCP server on every account. SignWith has a REST API and an MCP server for AI assistants such as Claude, ChatGPT, Cursor and VS Code, so your own code or your assistant can send documents for signature.
- No plan decides what the API is for. Documenso's Individual API is for personal use, and powering a product needs Platform at $3,000 a year. SignWith's API uses the same credits as the app, with no subscription, 3 free documents a month, and a credit used only when a document is signed.
- The same fit. The API doesn't change who SignWith suits: a team that needs self-hosting or open-source code should still pick Documenso.
SignWith templates, bulk send, reminders, team accounts and integrations are coming soon, so if you need any of those today, Documenso is the better buy. SignWith is used by 1,000+ businesses, and you can start free with no card.
No subscription. You buy credits, and a credit is used only when a document is signed. One credit covers one signed document, however many people sign it.
- Unlimited credits
- Never expires
- One-time payment
Prices in USD. See full pricing
If you're comparing Documenso with other free and open options, our free DocuSign alternatives covers it as the pick for hosting it yourself, and best e-signature for personal use compares free plans side by side.
Related reading
Frequently asked questions
Is Documenso free?
- Yes, up to a point. The cloud Free plan includes 5 documents a month with up to 10 recipients each, with no credit card. The self-hosted Community Edition is free too, but Documenso labels it for testing, evaluation and internal proofs of concept, and you run the servers (checked October 2026).
How much does Documenso cost?
- Individual is $25 a month billed yearly ($300 a year), Teams $40 a month billed yearly ($480 a year for 5 users, then $8 a month per extra user) and Platform $250 a month billed yearly ($3,000 a year). Enterprise and the self-hosted Business Edition are priced on request (checked October 7, 2026).
Is Documenso really unlimited?
- Paid plans have no document cap, but a Fair Use Policy applies. If your use goes beyond a plan's purpose, Documenso says it will ask you to upgrade and will not block your account without reaching out. The Individual plan's API may not be used to power a platform or product (checked October 2026).
Can I self-host Documenso for free?
- You can run the free Community Edition, which is open source under AGPL-3.0. You need PostgreSQL, an email server, storage and your own signing certificate, and Documenso labels this edition for testing and evaluation. Production use is meant for the paid Business or Enterprise Edition, and no edition includes infrastructure support.
Does Documenso have an API and an MCP server?
- Yes. Every paid plan includes the API, for personal use on Individual, for automation on Teams and unlimited on Platform. The official TypeScript SDK also runs as an MCP server on your own computer, set up for Claude Desktop and Cursor with your API key (checked October 2026).
Does Documenso support HIPAA?
- Documenso announced HIPAA compliance on March 11, 2026, with a Business Associate Agreement you can request; it becomes valid only after Documenso countersigns. The announcement does not say which plans qualify. Its trust center also lists SOC 2. Confirm the BAA in writing before you send health information.
E-signature rules vary by country, state and document type, so check with a legal professional that an e-signature suits your specific agreement before you rely on it.
Primary sources
- Documenso pricing page (checked October 7, 2026)
- Documenso Fair Use Policy, including rate limits and fair support (checked October 7, 2026)
- Documenso self-hosted editions page (checked October 7, 2026)
- Documenso self-hosting documentation: signing certificate and network security (checked October 7, 2026)
- Documenso TypeScript SDK README: MCP server (checked October 7, 2026)
- Documenso trust center and blog: HIPAA (March 11, 2026), email sending (June 10, 2026), external pull requests (June 18, 2026), Business Edition (January 30, 2026)
- Documenso status page, events log (checked October 7, 2026)
- Documenso reviews on Product Hunt (checked October 7, 2026)
- r/selfhosted: Documenso (June 2025 to February 2026)
- Cloudron Forum: Documenso threads (2023 to 2025)
- Hacker News comments on Documenso (2023 and 2025)
Written by
Ayush Garg
Co-founder, SignWith
Ayush is the co-founder of SignWith, the pay-per-document e-signature tool for businesses that just want documents signed without the intensity of a full platform. He worked as a freelancer, then a consultant, then a fractional head of growth, signing contracts with his clients. He has 6+ years of experience running SaaS and service businesses and writes about e-signatures, document workflows, and lean software.
Sign documents without another subscription.
Upload, sign and send in minutes. When you need more than the free documents, buy credits once, and a credit is used only when a document is signed.