OpenSign Review 2026: Pricing, Features & Honest Verdict

OpenSign review 2026: a free plan with unlimited signatures, Professional at $9.99 a month yearly, premium credits for the API, and what users complain about.

Ayush Garg
Ayush Garg, co-founder of SignWith
Published 31 min read
Header image for OpenSign Review 2026: Pricing, Features & Honest Verdict

OpenSign by OpenSignLabs is an open-source e-signature tool with a free cloud plan that has no cap on signatures. Its pricing page, checked October 7, 2026, lists that free plan, Professional at $9.99 a month on yearly billing or $29.99 on monthly billing, Teams at $19.99 per user a month yearly, and Enterprise on request.

It is not the digital signage product at opensign.us.

My OpenSign review in one line: for one person who signs and sends documents through the web app, the free plan is very hard to beat on price. The money starts when you want the API, bulk send, public signing links, kiosk mode or embedded signing, which all use premium credits on a paid plan.

On this page

OpenSign review verdict: who it's for and who should skip it

OpenSign is worth using when you want to sign documents and send them for signature from a web app, with templates, signing order and a completion certificate, and pay nothing. Its free plan does that with no cap on signatures, per its pricing page.

It is a weaker fit when you need to send from your own software, send in bulk or embed signing on your site, because those features use premium credits that come with paid plans, and the cheapest way to get them is the yearly option.

It is also a weaker fit when every email has to land on time: several of the complaints below are about signing emails that arrived late or not at all.

Best for: freelancers, small businesses and nonprofits that sign through the web app; teams that want to self-host the open-source version on their own server and have the Docker skills to run it.

Skip if: you need the API, bulk send or embedded signing without a paid plan; you want an MCP server your AI assistant can use without setting one up yourself; or you need a vendor that publishes HIPAA or SOC 2 paperwork.

Here is how users rate OpenSign on review sites, checked October 2026.

PlatformRatingNumber of reviewsChecked
G24.6 / 512 reviewsOctober 2026
Capterra4.7 / 53 reviewsOctober 2026
GetApp4.7 / 53 reviews, same as CapterraOctober 2026
Trustpilot3.6 / 5 (TrustScore)4 reviewsOctober 2026
Product HuntNot yet rated0 reviewsOctober 2026

Sources: G2, Capterra, GetApp and Trustpilot. OpenSign has no app on the App Store or Google Play; its pricing page lists a mobile app as coming soon.

What users say about OpenSign

OpenSign has few reviews: 12 on G2, 3 on Capterra, 4 on Trustpilot, and a handful of Google reviews on its business listing. Most of them are 4 or 5 stars and praise the price.

The complaints come from a 2-star Trustpilot review, a 1-star Google review, the "cons" fields of good reviews, and Reddit, Hacker News and GitHub threads, two of them from people running OpenSign on their own servers.

Below, the complaints are grouped by theme and given in full, with a few positives. Quotes run from 2023 to 2026, are copied as written, and name where they were posted. On Trustpilot, OpenSign "Hasn't replied to negative reviews" (checked October 7, 2026).

Pricing and billing: free for most, pricey for some

Most reviewers like the price, and several praise the free plan by name. The negatives are about the paid plan's cost and about features held back for paying customers.

“The paid version is relatively pricey even though it offers alot”

G2 labels this reviewer a guest or non-business user, not counted in its score.

ComplaintEmmanuel O., Support worker, mid-marketG2Apr 2025
“SSO shouldn't be a premium feature, as it's a core security requirement...”

On OpenSign's launch post. In October 2026 the pricing page lists SSO support under Enterprise.

ComplaintEmaltonatorReddit, r/selfhostedNov 2023
“And soon after suddenly the Pricing page appears, after 3 months of disappointment convenient features turn paying ones. In some more years it is just as expensive as Docusign...”

A prediction posted on OpenSign's launch day, not a review of the paid plans.

ComplaintszundiHacker NewsOct 2023
“The free trial let me know if the tools was right for my team and the price is reasonable.”
PraiseColleen GallionTrustpilotJan 2026
“Easily understandable UI, user-friendly, and cost-effective. Most features are free, including unlimited document creation and unlimited signature requests. Also available for self-hosting.”
PraisePravin S., Business analyst, computer softwareCapterraAug 2024
“Absolutely perfect software for free. It has been a godsend.”
PraiseKat BakersGoogle reviewsFeb 2025

OpenSign's pricing page does not mention a free trial; it lists a free plan instead. The trial the Trustpilot reviewer mentions may be the free plan, but OpenSign's pages do not say.

Support: one reviewer ignored for over a month

The support complaint I found is a 2-star Trustpilot review from March 2026, from a paying user. One Trustpilot reviewer from 2024 praises the support team.

“Opensign acted like they cared for a minute and now tech support has been ignoring me for over a month. It's probably time to go back to a more expensive option that actually works.”

A paying user, in a 2-star review.

ComplaintJeffrey CawthorneTrustpilotMar 2026
“The OpenSign community is vibrant and active, always ready to help with any questions or issues. The support team is responsive and knowledgeable, which is rare in open-source projects...”
PraiseUrvashiTrustpilotAug 2024

OpenSign's FAQ sends people to its GitHub issue tracker and its Discord community for help, and adds: "Official support is also available under the cloud hosted plans." The Enterprise plan lists priority support (checked October 7, 2026).

Ease of use: easy for most, rough edges in the editor

Ease of use is where OpenSign gets the most praise. The complaints are about the document editor and how the app looks.

“The only real thing I don't like about OpenSign as that when you put a field in (customer's name, signature, date, job title, ect) you can't delete it. So if you accidentally put two of the same thing in, you can't delete one of them.”

The "cons" of a 5-star review.

ComplaintKatie O., Admin assistant, constructionCapterraSep 2025
“The radio button interface could use some improvement and I would like to have seen a preview of my document before it was sent out.”

The "cons" of a 4-star review.

ComplaintColleen G., Interim executive director, mental health careCapterraJan 2026
“It has "open" in the name! and an ugly UI :)”
ComplaintlpellegrHacker NewsOct 2023
“Like everything tech, sometimes it may experience some bugs.”

What the reviewer dislikes, in a review titled "Great and user friendly interface".

MixedDavid O., Media service coordinator, small businessG2Apr 2025
“If you need an alternative to DocuSign, this is it. It really is well designed, logical in its functionality, intuitive, and easy to use. It's fast and reliable, too. An excellent alternative.”
PraiseD. B.TrustpilotAug 2025
“I love how easy the interface is to navigate and responsive the site is, I’ve never had any issues with the site in those aspects.”
PraiseEmmanuel O., Support worker, mid-marketG2Apr 2025
“Great free product that is extremely easy to use and navigate. Can upload a document and send it to clients within minutes.”
PraiseKatie O., Admin assistant, constructionCapterraSep 2025

Signer experience: emails that arrive late, or not at all

This is the theme with the most serious complaints. Users describe signing emails that never reached the other side, emails that took hours to land at company addresses, a template sent out blank, and a one-time password that never arrived.

“When it works, it's a great platform. I use the paid platform with a template and about half the time my template is sent out blank...”

The same 2-star review as above.

ComplaintJeffrey CawthorneTrustpilotMar 2026
“its not working at all. Was waiting hours and hours for counterparty if theyve received the mail but nothing to wait on since no one received any mail. better switch to docusign; its worth the money”

A 1-star review.

ComplaintDE LOiRGoogle reviewsDec 2025
“Sending a signature request to company emails so @domainexample it's slow ATM. Emails can take good 1-2 hours to land...”

From a 5-star review. The reviewer adds that emails to Gmail or Outlook addresses land instantly, and sends signing links by hand as a workaround.

MixedTumbleweed7Google reviewsFeb 2026
“When I went to sign the document from my dashboard (which was the only option since an email wasn't sent with a link), it requested that I enter a one-time password sent to my email. This was never sent, so I wasn't able to verify with a one-time password, and was not able to sign the document...”

A bug report on OpenSign's issue tracker, not a review.

Complaintevanash16GitHub issue #1134, OpenSign repositoryAug 2024
“The signature interface is very user-friendly.”
PraiseColleen G., Interim executive director, mental health careCapterraJan 2026
“It’s fast, easy to use, and looks professional to my clients. I love that I can get documents signed in minutes without making my clients jump through hoops or create accounts...”
PraiseMahesh PathrikarGoogle reviewsJan 2026

Features, self-hosting, and OpenSign's API and MCP

The feature complaints are mostly from people running OpenSign on their own servers: email setup, short install docs and a missing first admin account. Another reviewer notes missing language support.

“We use the self hosted option through docker, as emails in opensign are sent by default using the user email address, yet the smtp setup uses only a global authentication, we have issues with emails due to incompatibility with username and and the smtp authentication. This has been marked as a bug some time ago, but not yet fixed. It is however not a deal breaker and the system itself is so simple and easy to use that the extra setup required for this is worth it while we wait for an official fix.”

From a 4-star review.

ComplaintHeather S., IT and office manager, small businessG2Feb 2026
“The documentation is very very very short to start a selfhosted container...”

A self-hosting request on OpenSign's issue tracker, not a review.

ComplaintASchmidt84GitHub issue #1782, OpenSign repositoryJun 2025
“I am not presented with a first-time setup to create an admin user when I first open the app on a local Docker installation...”

A self-hosting bug report with 27 comments, not a review.

ComplaintdsaltaresGitHub issue #1158, OpenSign repositorySep 2024
“Multiple language support it is not supporting multiple languages.”

The "cons" of a 5-star review.

ComplaintPravin S., Business analyst, computer softwareCapterraAug 2024
“The open source approach allowing users to contribute to it and host a version is exceptional. The free version I've used so far works exactly as it should, looking forward to using it more and hopefully contributing to the project.”
PraiseKarl ErdmannGoogle reviewsJan 2026

I found no user reviews about OpenSign's API or about any OpenSign MCP server on G2, Capterra, Trustpilot, Google reviews, Reddit or Hacker News, so there is no user verdict on them yet. The vendor facts are in the API and MCP section below.

What OpenSign is and its key features

OpenSign is an open-source e-signature app. You upload a document, place fields, sign it yourself or send it to others, and get a signed PDF plus a completion certificate. OpenSignLabs runs a cloud version at no cost, sells paid plans on top of it, and publishes the code on GitHub so you can run it on your own server.

Here is what each cloud plan includes, per OpenSign's pricing page, checked October 7, 2026:

FeatureFreeProfessionalTeamsEnterprise
Price, yearly option$0$9.99 a month$19.99 per user a monthRequest Price
Price, monthly option$0$29.99 a month$39.99 per userRequest Price
E-signaturesUnlimitedUnlimitedUnlimitedUnlimited
Templates, guest signers, signing orderYesYesYesYes
Completion certificatesYesYesYesYes
Premium credits (API, bulk, public links, kiosk, embedded)None240 a year (yearly), 100 a month (monthly)500 a year (yearly), 100 a month (monthly)Not stated
Webhooks, Zapier, API accessNoYesYesYes
Automatic reminders, custom email templatesNoYesYesYes
Embedded signing, public linksNoYesYesYes
Teams, shared templates, your own cloud storage, kiosk modeNoNoYesYes
Custom domain, white-labeling, SSO, uptime SLANoNoNoYes

The free plan's list includes "14 field types", "Import from Dropbox", a contact book, document expiry, decline support and email notifications. The Teams plan lists payment requests and a mobile app as "coming soon".

What OpenSign does well

  • A free plan with no signature cap. The pricing page calls it "Free for life" with "Unlimited e-signatures", templates and guest signers. For signing through the web app, that is the whole cost.
  • Open source you can run yourself. Most of the code is under AGPL-3.0, with release v2.41.3 out on August 21, 2026, and more than 7,000 stars on GitHub (checked October 7, 2026).
  • Completion certificates and sealed PDFs. OpenSign's FAQ says it seals finished documents with a P12 certificate, so any later change invalidates the signature, and adds a completion certificate with access logs and timestamps.
  • A REST API. OpenSign publishes API docs for v1.1 and v1.2, and the paid plans add webhooks and a Zapier integration.
  • Credits that cover a whole document. Per the pricing page, one premium credit covers one document you start or send, with up to 10 signers on it.

OpenSign pricing in 2026 (checked October 2026)

OpenSign's pricing page has a switch between a monthly and a yearly option; the yearly option is labelled "66% off". Here is what it showed on October 7, 2026:

PlanYearly optionMonthly optionPremium credits
Free$0$0None
Professional$9.99 a month$29.99 a month240 a year on yearly, 100 a month on monthly
Teams$19.99 per user a month$39.99 per user500 a year on yearly, 100 a month on monthly
EnterpriseRequest PriceRequest PriceNot stated

By my math, the yearly option comes to $119.88 a year for Professional and $239.88 a year for one Teams user. The page does not say whether yearly is charged up front.

The premium credits are the part to read closely. Per OpenSign's Credit Deductions page:

  • What uses credits: "API Signature", "Bulk Send", "Public Template Signing", "Kiosk Mode" and "Embedded Signing".
  • What does not: standard document sending, signing a document yourself, and sending with a template.
  • Controls: admins can set a credit limit per user, and OpenSign emails you when 50, 10 and 0 credits are left.

What OpenSign's pages do not show (checked October 7, 2026):

  • A price for extra credits. Neither the pricing page nor the Credit Deductions page lists one.
  • Whether unused credits carry over from one year or month to the next.
  • What Enterprise costs.
By the numbers

The OpenSign numbers that set your real price

$0
Free plan, with unlimited e-signatures
OpenSign pricing
$9.99
Professional, per month on the yearly option ($29.99 on the monthly option)
OpenSign pricing
240
Premium credits a year on Professional yearly, for API, bulk send, public links, kiosk and embedded signing
OpenSign pricing
10
Signers allowed on one document that uses one premium credit
OpenSign pricing
5
Features that use premium credits
OpenSign Credit Deductions page
Checked Oct 2026All these numbers have been sourced from OpenSign's original pages: pricing and the Credit Deductions help page.

Self-hosting OpenSign: a free licence, real setup work

OpenSign's FAQ says the self-hosted open-source version is "completely free" with unlimited digital signatures. The licence file puts most of the code under AGPL-3.0 and one directory, "apps/OpenSignServer/cloud/customRoute", under its own licence. OpenSignLabs added that split on November 21, 2024, the same day one of its co-founders posted on Reddit that a fork was stripping out paid-plan restrictions.

Three things to know before you self-host:

  1. No API on the free self-hosted version. When a self-hoster asked on GitHub in September 2024 where the API token option had gone, an OpenSignLabs team member replied: "APIs are not a part of the free self-hosted version." The same reply points to the sales team for self-hosted APIs. No price for that is published.
  2. You run the server. The install guide uses Docker. The GitHub issues and the G2 review quoted above describe a missing first admin account, short docs and email (SMTP) setup trouble.
  3. Support is community support. The FAQ points self-hosters to GitHub issues and Discord; official support is for the cloud plans.
QuestionOpenSign cloud, free planOpenSign self-hosted, free
Licence fee$0$0
Unlimited signaturesYesYes, per the FAQ
APINo; paid plans onlyNo, per the OpenSignLabs reply
Who runs the serverOpenSignLabsYou
SupportOfficial support on cloud plans, per the FAQGitHub issues and Discord

Does OpenSign have an API and an MCP server?

API: yes, on paid plans. OpenSign documents a REST API (v1.1 and v1.2). Live API access starts on Professional, and every document sent through the API uses a premium credit: 240 a year on Professional yearly. The free cloud plan has no API access, and the free self-hosted version has none either.

MCP: not as a hosted service. OpenSign's website, pricing page and docs (checked October 7, 2026) do not mention an MCP server. OpenSignLabs' GitHub account does have a "claude-opensign-integration" repository, created in June 2026, whose readme says it includes "a bundled stdio MCP server" with seven tools, such as creating and sending a document, that you install and run yourself or deploy to your own Cloudflare account. It needs an OpenSign API key, so it works only with a plan that includes the API, and each document it sends uses a premium credit.

Is OpenSign secure and legally binding?

OpenSign's FAQ says its signatures comply "with electronic signature laws across various jurisdictions", that finished documents are sealed with a P12 certificate so any change invalidates the signature, and that every finished document gets a completion certificate with access logs and signature timestamps. It suggests checking a signed PDF in Adobe Acrobat Reader.

I found no HIPAA, SOC 2 or ISO 27001 statement on OpenSign's pricing page, FAQ or docs (checked October 7, 2026). That means it is not stated, not that OpenSign fails them. If your business needs one, ask OpenSignLabs in writing.

Where OpenSign falls short

  1. Emails that do not arrive on time. Two Google reviewers and one GitHub report describe signing emails or one-time passwords that came hours late or never came.
  2. A template sent out blank. A paying Trustpilot reviewer says this happens "about half the time".
  3. Support that went quiet for one paying reviewer, for over a month.
  4. The API costs a yearly plan, or three times as much monthly. The cheapest way to use the API is $9.99 a month on the yearly option; on the monthly option it is $29.99.
  5. No published price for extra credits. If you use up your 240 a year, the pricing page does not say what more credits cost.
  6. No API on the free self-hosted version, per OpenSignLabs' own reply on GitHub.
  7. Editor gaps that reviewers name: fields that could not be deleted, no preview before sending, radio buttons that need work.
  8. No HIPAA or SOC 2 statement on the pages I read.

What a year of OpenSign costs at 5, 10 and 25 documents a month

For one sender who signs and sends through the web app, OpenSign costs $0 a year at any of these volumes, because the free plan has unlimited e-signatures and in-app sending uses no credits.

If every document has to go out through the API, bulk send or an embedded form, each one uses a premium credit, and the cost depends on the plan that holds enough credits. Prices checked October 7, 2026 on OpenSign's pricing page:

Volume, one senderWeb app onlyEvery document through the API
5 a month (60 a year)$0 (Free)$119.88 (Professional yearly, 240 credits a year)
10 a month (120 a year)$0 (Free)$119.88 (Professional yearly, 240 credits a year)
25 a month (300 a year)$0 (Free)$239.88 (Teams yearly, one user, 500 credits a year), or $359.88 on Professional monthly (100 credits a month)

At 25 a month, 300 API sends a year are more than Professional yearly's 240 credits, and OpenSign does not publish a price for extra credits, so the table uses the cheapest plan whose included credits cover the year.

Which OpenSign plan fits you

You arePlanWhy
One person or a small team signing in the web appFreeUnlimited e-signatures, templates and completion certificates
A developer sending up to 240 documents a year from your own appProfessional, yearlyAPI access, webhooks and 240 credits for $119.88 a year
A team sharing templates, or needing kiosk mode or your own storageTeamsTeams features and 500 credits a year per the yearly option
A company needing SSO, white-labeling or an uptime SLAEnterpriseOnly plan that lists them; price on request
An IT team that wants documents on its own serversSelf-hosted, freeFree licence, but no API and you run the server
Decision guide

Which OpenSign plan fits you

Do you need the API, bulk send, public links or embedded signing?
  • No
    Must the documents stay on your own server?
    • Yes
      Check firstSelf-hosted, free (no API)
    • No
      GoFree cloud plan
  • Yes
    Do you need SSO, white-labeling or an uptime SLA?
    • Yes
      Check firstEnterprise, price on request
    • No
      More than 240 credit uses a year, or team features?
      • Yes
        GoTeams
      • No
        GoProfessional, yearly
Source: OpenSign pricing, OpenSign Credit Deductions page. Checked Oct 2026

The tree in words:

  1. If you only sign and send in the web app, use the free cloud plan; if the documents must stay on your own server, self-host it, without the API.
  2. If you need SSO, white-labeling or an uptime SLA, ask OpenSignLabs about Enterprise.
  3. If you need more than 240 credit uses a year or team features, Teams; otherwise Professional on the yearly option.

How I reviewed OpenSign

I and my team have used OpenSign. For this review I also read OpenSign's own pages and what its users wrote from 2023 to 2026, and checked everything again on October 7, 2026:

  • Vendor pages: the plans and pricing page, both the monthly and yearly options, the Credit Deductions help page, the FAQ, the API and self-host docs, the GitHub repository and licence file, and the OpenSignLabs Claude integration repository.
  • Review platforms: all 4 Trustpilot reviews (2024 to 2026), all 3 Capterra reviews (2024 to 2026, the same 3 on GetApp), and G2 reviews from 2025 and 2026. Product Hunt shows no reviews.
  • Google reviews: the reviews on OpenSignLabs' Google business listing, dated 2025 and 2026.
  • Forums: Reddit threads in r/selfhosted and r/opensource (2023 to 2026), the Show HN thread on Hacker News (2023), and bug reports on OpenSign's GitHub issue tracker (2024 and 2025).
  • App stores: OpenSign has no App Store or Google Play app; its pricing page lists a mobile app as coming soon.

Who should skip OpenSign, and what to use instead

Keep OpenSign if:

  • you sign and send documents through the web app and want to pay nothing: at 5, 10 or 25 documents a month, its free plan costs less than SignWith, and I'd say so to anyone who asked
  • you need to self-host on your own server
  • you want team template sharing, kiosk mode or bulk send today

If your business needs HIPAA or SOC 2 paperwork, look for a vendor that publishes it; if you just need your business documents signed without paying extra for that, use SignWith.

Skip OpenSign if you want to send documents from your own code or an AI assistant without signing up for a paid plan, or you want an MCP server with nothing to set up. That is who we built SignWith for.

SignWith has no seats and no subscription. You buy credits, and a credit is used only when a document is signed. Every signed document uses one of your free monthly documents or a credit, including one that only you sign, and a declined, voided or expired document uses none.

  • Upload a PDF, JPEG or PNG, add signature, date, text and checkbox fields, and set the signing order.
  • Your recipients sign in the browser on any device, with no account.
  • Every completed document comes with a Certificate of Completion that records timestamps, IP addresses, device and browser details and email events, sealed with a SHA-256 hash.
Cost comparison

10 signed documents a month for a year, one sender

  • SignWith, cheapest packs84 paid documents: 1 x Basic + 1 x Pro + 1 x Business
    $57
  • SignWith Lifetime Dealone-time, unlimited credits
    $149
  • OpenSign Free web app only$0 per year
    $0
  • OpenSign Professional yearly option, needed for the API$119.88 per year
    $119.88
Assumes 10 signed documents a month for 12 months (120 documents), one sender. OpenSign Free has unlimited e-signatures in the web app. OpenSign Professional is $9.99 a month on the yearly option ($119.88 a year by our math) and includes 240 premium credits a year for API, bulk and embedded sending.Source: OpenSign pricing, SignWith pricing. Checked Oct 2026

Here is the same year at all three volumes. OpenSign prices checked October 7, 2026; SignWith prices render from our pricing data, and the free monthly documents continue after you buy packs.

VolumeOpenSign, web appOpenSign, through the APISignWith, 1 year, app or API
5 a month$0 (Free)$119.88 (Professional yearly)3 free a month cover 36 documents; one Pro pack covers the other 24 for $19
10 a month$0 (Free)$119.88 (Professional yearly)84 paid documents: one Business, one Pro and one Basic pack, $29 plus $19 plus $9
25 a month$0 (Free)$239.88 (Teams yearly, one user)264 paid documents: the Lifetime Deal at $149 one-time, cheaper than buying packs

In the web app, OpenSign wins at every volume, because $0 is less than anything we charge. Through the API, SignWith costs less at all three volumes in the first year, with no subscription to start.

OpenSign gates its API behind a paid plan and has no hosted MCP server; its own GitHub has a Claude integration with an MCP server you set up and run yourself, using a paid API key. SignWith takes a different route:

  • An API and an MCP server on every account. SignWith has a REST API and an MCP server for AI assistants such as Claude, ChatGPT, Cursor and VS Code, so your own code or your assistant can send documents for signature, with nothing to host.
  • The same credits as the app. No subscription, no developer plan, 3 free documents a month, then you buy credits, and a credit is used only when a document is signed.
  • The same fit. The API doesn't change who SignWith suits: if you sign in the web app and want $0, OpenSign's free plan is still the cheaper choice.

SignWith templates, reminders, bulk send, team accounts and custom integrations are coming soon, so if you need any of those today, OpenSign is the better buy. SignWith is used by 1,000+ businesses, and you can start free with no card.

Pricing
SignWith pricing

No subscription. You buy credits, and a credit is used only when a document is signed. One credit covers one signed document, however many people sign it.

Best value
Lifetime Deal
  • Unlimited credits
  • Never expires
  • One-time payment
Was $199$149Save 25%
Get lifetime access
Basic pack
$9
10 credits
$0.90 per signed document
Valid 12 months
Get started
Pro pack
$19
25 credits
$0.76 per signed document
Valid 12 months
Get started
Business pack
$29
50 credits
$0.58 per signed document
Valid 12 months
Get started
Free: 3 signed documents every month, no card, no rollover. Start freeEnterprise: custom. Talk to founder

Prices in USD. See full pricing

If you're comparing free tools, start with our free DocuSign alternatives and free DocuSign alternatives for small businesses. The DocuSign review covers the tool most OpenSign reviewers compare it with.

FAQ

Frequently asked questions

Is OpenSign really free?

Yes, for signing in the web app. The free cloud plan has unlimited e-signatures, templates, guest signers and completion certificates, and the pricing page calls it "Free for life" (checked October 2026). The API, bulk send, public links, kiosk mode and embedded signing use premium credits, which come with paid plans from $9.99 a month on the yearly option.

How much does OpenSign cost?

Free costs $0. Professional is $9.99 a month on the yearly option or $29.99 on the monthly option. Teams is $19.99 per user a month yearly or $39.99 per user monthly. Enterprise is priced on request (OpenSign pricing page, checked October 7, 2026). Extra premium credits have no published price.

What are OpenSign premium credits?

Credits used by API signatures, bulk send, public template signing, kiosk mode and embedded signing. One credit covers one document you start or send that way, with up to 10 signers. Professional includes 240 a year on the yearly option or 100 a month on the monthly option; Teams includes 500 a year on the yearly option. Signing in the app uses no credits.

Can I self-host OpenSign?

Yes. The code is on GitHub, mostly under AGPL-3.0, and installs with Docker. The free self-hosted version has unlimited signatures but no API: an OpenSignLabs team member wrote on GitHub in September 2024 that "APIs are not a part of the free self-hosted version". Self-hosters get help through GitHub issues and Discord.

Does OpenSign have an API and an MCP server?

It has a REST API (v1.1 and v1.2) on paid plans, and each API send uses a premium credit. OpenSign does not run a hosted MCP server and its website and docs do not mention one. Its GitHub account has a Claude integration, created in June 2026, with an MCP server you install or deploy yourself, and it needs a paid API key.

Is OpenSign safe and legally binding?

OpenSign's FAQ says its signatures comply with electronic signature laws in many jurisdictions, that finished documents are sealed with a P12 certificate so changes invalidate the signature, and that each gets a completion certificate with access logs. I found no HIPAA or SOC 2 statement on its pages (checked October 2026).

Is OpenSign the same as opensign.us?

No. This review covers OpenSign by OpenSignLabs, the open-source e-signature tool. OpenSign at opensign.us is a separate digital signage product.

Primary sources

Ayush Garg

Written by

Ayush Garg

Co-founder, SignWith

Ayush is the co-founder of SignWith, the pay-per-document e-signature tool for businesses that just want documents signed without the intensity of a full platform. He worked as a freelancer, then a consultant, then a fractional head of growth, signing contracts with his clients. He has 6+ years of experience running SaaS and service businesses and writes about e-signatures, document workflows, and lean software.

Sign documents without another subscription.

Upload, sign and send in minutes. When you need more than the free documents, buy credits once, and a credit is used only when a document is signed.

3
Free documents every month
$0.58
Per document on Business
1,000+
Businesses signing